We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

What a great find..... My wife and I recently stayed at Thabile Lodge for one night. The rooms in the cottage were spotless and well appointed. Views of the mountains/hills at sunset are gorgeous. You must have the evening meal here. You will not be disappointed. Although breakfast is included, we regrettably left the following morning at 4:45 to see the Meerkats coming out of their burrows at sunrise. This worthwhile activity can be arranged at the Oudtshoorn tourist office. It is a bit expensive but most interesting and should not be missed if you have the time. The Meerkat site is about 30km away from the Lodge. The Thabile Lodge is a very relaxing place to stay. Check out their website to view the property.

Room Tip: All cottages are great....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 456 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

During our 3 week holiday in South-Africa we stayed for 3 nights in Thabile lodge! It was wonderfull: very good food, friendly padrone, nice atmosphere, scenic views, big bed, ... The hotel with the best price/quality ratio we had during our holiday in South-Africa!
Lies & Eric, Belgium

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiesVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Traveling trough South Africa, we found Thabile Lodge by coïnsidence. Our host, Len is the kind of man who has the great ability to let you feel welcome and make yourself at home ! We planned to stay 2 nights, but soon after arriving, we decided to book an extra night. Huge clean rooms, nice beds, hot water power shower, breathtaking scenery, nice dinner (mmmm), great wines, beautiful garden, refreshing swimming pool and last but not in the least the dogs, the birds... make Thabile Lodge a very special place to stay. We loved it !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the lodge and we loved every minute of it. You are welcomed by Len (who owns the place), Ben and Annabelle (two adorable Bassett hounds), Garfield (the biggest cat you have ever seen), a couple of other dogs ..... it feels like a private house. The accommodation is spacious and clean, the power shower is welcome after a day's driving. We sat outside our cabin in the evening to enjoy the wonderful views of the Swartberg .... and then there is the food. You can have anything you like for breakfast, it is cooked just as you like it, there is a choice of three dishes for dinner - the ostrich steak is wonderful and so is the fish. Dinner is a long and leisurely affair, sitting outside by candle light under the thatched roof is so nice, you don't want the evening to end.
There is a good choice of wine - Len will help you to find something that's right for you (and in the process you will try a few different wines).
The place feels safe - it is comfortable, it is welcoming - you don't want to leave.

Room Tip: No need to worry - all the rooms have wonderful mountain views. Cabins 3A and 3B are closer to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACL3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a very nice well kept guest house. We even had dinner there most of the nights and it was wonderful. The host Len is a wonderful person and knows how to get the guests to interact and get to know each other. Really like my stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennfor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We arrived in the afternoon to be served wine (or juice if you wish) on arrival, and were breathtaken with the incredible scenery and peaceful surroundings. We were waited on all afternoon / night with drinks, and amazing food - be sure to book the 3 course dinner before you arrive, it is NOT to be missed. The food was amazing. We loved this place.

The rooms are amazing, huge big beds and big open showers, a beautiful swimming pool and lawn in front of the main house and restaurant. This place really was the highlight of our holiday. We WILL be back.

Thanks Len

Rebecca, Alex, Mark, and Gergia (NZ).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have spent a very relaxed and happy day at Thabile! Beautifully appointed, yet homely. Food absolutely top class. Welcome so warm - Len a fabulous host. All staff really made the stay memorable. I'll be back! Thanks Erica

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericawille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
12.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
911 reviews
16.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
9.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
184 reviews
31.0 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing