We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starry starry nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Originally booked into Cottage 2 but were given a much bigger cottage on arrival - no 8. Cottage very roomy - 2 double beds, each with en suite, large living/dining/kitchen area, veranda at back not overlooked at all with stunning forward views to the hills etc. Situated in a picturesque hamlet with a large church in the centre.

Used the braai on 2 nights which was a great experience as it's not something we normally do in the UK. Add a decent bottle of wine and some fantastic dark starry skies, complete with several bats zooming around - pretty much perfect, though a bit warmer would have been ideal! Kitchen equipment was pretty spartan though sufficient - all seemed virtually new. Cottage was cleaned/made up each day, a nice touch when you're supposed to be self catering! Even had our car cleaned one day without even asking!! Blissfully quiet at night too.

Some lovely secenery around - we stayed 3 nights and did the meerkat trip (05:15 start though and about a 20 minute drive from Berluda to the start point but well worth it), the Cango Caves (very spectacular). Oudsthoom, Rust-en-Vrede waterfall, as well as just relaxing on the veranda at the cottage. Make sure you try the wines at nearby Karusa too.

Baby ostriches between the cottages and hotel buildings - quite surreal until you get used to seeing them. You'll see ostriches though all round Oudtshoorn.

Overall we really can't complain which makes a nice change!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PjayP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed at Bermuda for a full week for a music festival in Oudtshoorn that we performed at. Being traveling musicians, we get to see a lot of places, and stay at a lot of guesthouses. Berluda definitely came out on top when comparing to all the others we have stayed at around South Africa.

Beautiful Scenery, Extremely friendly hosts, Lovely food and the quaintness of the cottages made it an unforgettable stay, and a place we would love to return to. It has a real authentic South african farm feel to it! All the great Sightseeing for Oudtshoorn also stones throw from Berluda, ie. Cango Caves, Wildlife park etc. And don't let the dirt road leading to the cottages put you off, as the staff washed our car every morning.

Thanx to Berluda for making our work much more pleasurable... :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlanetPeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We spend the last two days of our honeymoon at Berluda and it was the only place that almost felt like home. It's a great place to stay if you want to get away from people and experience some farm living...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanguageZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed with 2 kids in a cottage.

Upside: spacious appartment, with little kitchenette, a lot of outside space; warm welcome (but then the owner wasnt seen again, a young girl is available at the reception); Cango Ostrich Farm is a 3mins drive away.

Downside: the furniture should be called rather old / used, instead of antique. It was not cleaned very well. Breakfast was very limited and warmed up the next day. The breakfast room does not have an atmosphere at all: it is dark and rather looks like a cantine. The restaurant always seems to be closed, which is a shame as it is a 20mins drive to Oudtshoorn downtown. No internet access available. Pool was closed, too, although we had sunny 30C. Nobody helped with luggage. Appartments are 1min drive from hotel reception/breakfast room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

On our way along the Garden Route, our group of seventeen travelers spent a night at this establishment last August 10, 2010. On arrival, we were warmly greeted and accommodated by the owners, Rosie and Laura Schoeman and their charming assistant Hanelize. Lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day were home cooked meals from family recipes. Our afternoon ostrich hatchery and farm tour conducted by Laura and ably assisted by her eight year old son Jan Henry was most interesting and informative. Accommodations at the homestead were most comfortable with a very serene and casual atmosphere. Family photos, possessions and other memorabilia tastefully adorn the rooms giving one the feeling of a guest in a family home. The room is equipped with a ceiling fan and air conditioning, and our bathroom was equipped with a jacuzzi. Room niceties include complimentary coffee and tea service, a complimentary decanter of wine, and dried fruit preserves. Rosie, the Schoeman family matriarch, informed us that renovations were undertaken only two years ago and that she is constantly thinking of ways to improve the Berluda experience for guests. My one regret is that we only stayed a night and headed out early the next morning. Will I return if I have the opportunity? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edcap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful stay! The rooms were spacious and luxurious with a good balance between modern and old style furniture. A very peaceful setting with warm and friendly service. (The breakfast dish is to die for!)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BensbabeHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We had the pleasure to stay at Berluda for two nights and truly loved our stay in the charming cottage.
The location is ideal, close to town but yet tranquil in the country side with a great view. The service offered by the Schoeman family was very professional yet personal.
The cottages are roomy and extremely quiet, with nice ensuite bathrooms and soft/fresh linnen.
We were served exceptionally well prepared breakfasts, and enjoyed the home made cooking that Rosie served us for dinner the evening we arrived after an exhausting drive from Addo park.

ps: a larger TV would however benefit the standing of the place

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bversavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
12.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
204 reviews
12.4 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
466 reviews
21.8 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
163 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages

Address: Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on route to the Cango Caves, in the Schoemanshoek Valley (14 kilometers north of Oudtshoorn), Berluda is an intimate guesthouse experience. 7 En suite bedrooms in the original Farmhouse and 8 self catering cottages. 2 Swimming pools are available to guests. Ostriches, apricot orchards, and hikes can be undertaken to enjoy the special indigenous vegetation. 4 X 4 routes and mountain biking. Ideal for family/friends reunions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing