We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Karoo Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karoo Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is amazing. My girlfriend and I stayed there and were treated with excellent, friendly service and an incredible breakfast. Beds were made when we got back from our excursions and the place was very neat and tidy. We are definitely going back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Very lovely guesthouse with a really nice host. She gave us many recommendations for restaurants and hints for trips. We spent only one night at Shades, but the breakfast was good, the surrounding quiet and the rooms functional.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbird888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Our one night at Shades of Africa remains one of our more memorable experiences in South Africa. After a long but impressive drive from Hermanus to Oudtshooorn on Route 62 we were charmed by this quirky guesthouse and the warm welcome from our host.

Knowing that we had little time to spend in the area, our host directed us to a lovely local restaurant the first evening where we dined in it's rose garden. The following day we found a personalized itinerary waiting for us at breakfast that suggested several pit stops not in the guide books!

I would highly recommend this guesthouse if you are looking for something a little different. Shades of Africa is a real little gem - it has the comfort and cleanliness that one looks for when travelling in addition to a fantastic host with a boundless imagination (part of the experience is appreciating the decoration) who takes real pleasure in chatting with her guests. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hugsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed a couple of nights. A fantastic hidden place with very helpful friendly owner.

Breakfast comprised of fruit salad, yoghurt, breads, jams etc and bacon / eggs.

Spacious room with ensuite opening up to small pool area.

Definately recommend Jemimas restaurant just down the road.

Plenty to do in the surrounding area - don't miss the Cango Caves, De Vere Waterfall, Mergingsport Gorge and Ostrich Farms.

Would recommend as a peaceful little retreat.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K1000M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We visited Shades of Africa 2 weeks ago. Had a really wonderful time. Clean, very nicely african style decorated guesthouse. Large rooms with great beds. Excellent breakfast. The owner of this guesthouse is an enthusiastic friendly lady who can tell you a lot about what to do around oudtshoorn. We would definitely visit this guesthouse again!!

  • Liked — the owner and the interior
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marjan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I have been going to South Africa regularly either to play rugby, for work, or as a tourist, since 1995. I have stayed in a variety of places, from basic to super-luxury hotels.
Since discovering Shades, I always try to make time to take a trip to the Karoo, just to stay there. Oudtshoorn is a great little town anyway, and the Karoo is well worth a visit, but having a cosy and immensely hospitable place as a base to return to makes it even better.
The breakfast is very good, the rooms are lovely,and it is very good value for money. Everyone has always been very helpful,and happy to make restaurant bookings, or advise about things to do.
Finally, I'd like to point out I've been there in Spring, Summer and Winter, so I think I have a reasonable claim to have seen all the different facets of the place.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and owners, and a good bar.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

We found this accommodation via the Portfolio Collection website, when looking for accommodation in Oudtshoorn. The accommodation is all very well designed in African style, the bedrooms and breakfast/ communal areas. It could be a little tacky, but it isn’t - it's just very well done and very pleasant place to stay. The bedrooms are very spacious and decorated to a high standard and very clean. The welcome and service are also of a high standard. Great breakfast, one of the best.
The accommodation is situated in a leafy street just off the main road and is very quiet and peaceful. There is a pool, but not heated and a little too cold on the day we visited. The grounds of the house are very well designed and full of African flowers and plants.

Overall a great place to stay for one night or several.

We would recommend the accommodation to others.

We would also recommend visiting this area as part of the drive along the Garden Route and not just to see the Ostriches. The drive along the R62 between Oudtshoorn and Barrydale is just fantastic and makes a nice change from the N2.

  • Liked — style and decoration plus breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Private Collection
El Dorado Private Collection
#11 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cul De Sac Bed & Breakfast & Self Catering
0.3 mi away
El Dorado Luxury Self Catering
El Dorado Luxury Self Catering
#17 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
136 reviews
7.6 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Retreat

Property: Karoo Retreat
Address: 238a Jan van Riebeeck Road | Wesbank, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karoo Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Little Karoo, conveniently close to both the Garden Route and Route 62, we offer a unique base from which to enjoy and explore the beauty of this region. For the sophisticated young at heart, we offer an African experience with comfort, tranquility and style, furnished with hand-picked Karoo interior. We offer 4 double or twin bedded rooms with private entrance and patio each with own bathroom plus shower. All rooms are equipped with DSTV television, overhead fans, air conditioners, heaters, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. Beautifull enclosed indigenous garden and Private Swimmingpool. All this for you to enjoy! We welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing