We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hallooooo it's us again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Meul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Oude Meul
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hallooooo it's us again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We are going Easter weekend again to this amazing lodge. We know that we will get an even walmer welcome this time around as these people just grow fonder in your heart. We need a break and as for rest, peace and food you cannot ask for better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This extremely well-priced resort in an area of amazing natural beauty exceeded our expectations. The spotlessly clean units are equipped with everything one needs for a comfortable stay, serviced daily and have powerful yet silent air-conditioners that meant we were always cool when inside. The resort grounds and gardens are beautifully maintained and there are two large sparkling swimming pools. The ample breakfasts were delicious. The a la carte restaurant was nothing special so self-catering for lunch and dinner is probably the better option. There are barbecue facilities on the terrace of the unit. Close by there are many interesting and beautiful places to visit, especially the Rust en Vrede waterfall.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

A beautiful place,a tranquil setting, excellent service, great hospitality, people with soul and fabulous food, what more could you ask for?We have been visiting De Oude Meul for the past 6 years and have enjoyed every visit!We just returned from our last visit to De Oude Meul. Once again we visited the De Oude Meul Restaurant and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service that we received.Thank you very much!Can't wait for our next visit!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PE
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Oudshoorn area staying at self catering accomodation, and by far the best so far! The family units are so well equipped and we loved the separate room for our kids. The hotel is set in the base of a valley and the scenery is beautiful. Our kids (8 and 11) couldnt get enough of the baby ostriches on the farm. They also "adopted" the owners 2 dogs for the weekend. Even though it was quite cold, they managed a quick dip in the pool too. The braai was well used by us, and the oven in the kitchen was very handy! All in all, we cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Only ate dinner here but it wasn't worth the trek from Oudshoorn for the quality of fare on offer. Food was OK but no more. Service mediocre. But it is not expensive so I guess it has to be OK if you are staying at the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a warm welcome from Mariaan Spies(owner). The rooms were clean,comfortable,but a bit small and unfortunately no view from the room. The stars at night from the stoep are absolutely stunning especially for us city folk. Breakfast was an excellent, quality spread.
To note that if you have dinner in town it is a bit of a dark road back at night. However it is a very tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The venue is picturesque but the establishment did not live up to my expectation. The staff at reception were distracted and not too helpful. The room is decent,downside- I had a door opening into the service area and there was a lot of dust. The pool requires some attention.Not worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.3 mi away
De Kombuys Estate
De Kombuys Estate
#14 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#33 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montana Guest Farm
Montana Guest Farm
#18 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Meul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Meul

Property: De Oude Meul
Address: Near Cango Caves, Garden Route, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Meul 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located en route to the Cango Caves, De Oude Meul Country Lodge lies nestled at the foothills of the majestic Swartberg Mountains, in Oudtshoorn, Garden Route. The Lodge is situated in the beautiful Schoemanspoort, halfway between Oudtshoorn and the world famous Cango Caves on the R328. To overnight on this beautiful farm is an unforgettable experience. The lodge is surrounded by mountains, which together with the exotic plants of the Klein Karoo create a quiet serene atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Meul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing