We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday experience ever!!”
Review of De Oude Meul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Oude Meul
Certificate of Excellence
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best holiday experience ever!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A beautiful place,a tranquil setting, excellent service, great hospitality, people with soul and fabulous food, what more could you ask for?We have been visiting De Oude Meul for the past 6 years and have enjoyed every visit!We just returned from our last visit to De Oude Meul. Once again we visited the De Oude Meul Restaurant and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and service that we received.Thank you very much!Can't wait for our next visit!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    38
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
31
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PE
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our third visit to Oudshoorn area staying at self catering accomodation, and by far the best so far! The family units are so well equipped and we loved the separate room for our kids. The hotel is set in the base of a valley and the scenery is beautiful. Our kids (8 and 11) couldnt get enough of the baby ostriches on the farm. They also "adopted" the owners 2 dogs for the weekend. Even though it was quite cold, they managed a quick dip in the pool too. The braai was well used by us, and the oven in the kitchen was very handy! All in all, we cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Only ate dinner here but it wasn't worth the trek from Oudshoorn for the quality of fare on offer. Food was OK but no more. Service mediocre. But it is not expensive so I guess it has to be OK if you are staying at the property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward1951S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a warm welcome from Mariaan Spies(owner). The rooms were clean,comfortable,but a bit small and unfortunately no view from the room. The stars at night from the stoep are absolutely stunning especially for us city folk. Breakfast was an excellent, quality spread.
To note that if you have dinner in town it is a bit of a dark road back at night. However it is a very tranquil setting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The venue is picturesque but the establishment did not live up to my expectation. The staff at reception were distracted and not too helpful. The room is decent,downside- I had a door opening into the service area and there was a lot of dust. The pool requires some attention.Not worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Luxury room and what a pleasure it was! The room was clean, everything was taken care of and the hospitality is fantastic! We enjoyed the swimming pool a lot and couldn't get too much of nature!
The restaurant is superb!!! We had Eland, Ostrich, Kudu & even Wild Boar kebabs! Each meal was perfectly prepared with much care, detail, quality but most of all, excellent value for money! The waitresses is lovely, especially Anika! Very cute & friendly and she really made us feel welcome!!
I will definitely return to Oude Meul someday and I will recommend this stay to anyone! Just don't stay for one night only. You'll miss out on a lot!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CL773WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the second time my Husband and I went to stay at The oudemeul Guest Lodge. I would go there every year we stayed for 15days this time and the staff From the Owner Boy and Mariaan Spies, and management team to all the staff, they all are just the best people we have ever met.The rooms are always clean and if you need something they are there to assist you,The Meul Rest. has the most amazing food This is the place you want to be if you need friendlyness and peace and quite.We can only say this is one of our best places we have ever visited for such a long period and can recomend them any time you will be blessed.We can just recomment them as the most clean and friendly lodge in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice and big with aricons and fans. The selfcatering flats are huge and beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
De Poort Country Lodge
De Poort Country Lodge
#18 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
55 reviews
22.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bisibee Guest House
Bisibee Guest House
#55 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Meul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Meul

Property: De Oude Meul
Address: Near Cango Caves, Garden Route, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Meul 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located en route to the Cango Caves, De Oude Meul Country Lodge lies nestled at the foothills of the majestic Swartberg Mountains, in Oudtshoorn, Garden Route. The Lodge is situated in the beautiful Schoemanspoort, halfway between Oudtshoorn and the world famous Cango Caves on the R328. To overnight on this beautiful farm is an unforgettable experience. The lodge is surrounded by mountains, which together with the exotic plants of the Klein Karoo create a quiet serene atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your De Oude Meul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing