We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place, warm hospitality & wonderful staff!!!”
Review of De Oude Meul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
De Oude Meul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in the Luxury room and what a pleasure it was! The room was clean, everything was taken care of and the hospitality is fantastic! We enjoyed the swimming pool a lot and couldn't get too much of nature!
The restaurant is superb!!! We had Eland, Ostrich, Kudu & even Wild Boar kebabs! Each meal was perfectly prepared with much care, detail, quality but most of all, excellent value for money! The waitresses is lovely, especially Anika! Very cute & friendly and she really made us feel welcome!!
I will definitely return to Oude Meul someday and I will recommend this stay to anyone! Just don't stay for one night only. You'll miss out on a lot!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL773WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the second time my Husband and I went to stay at The oudemeul Guest Lodge. I would go there every year we stayed for 15days this time and the staff From the Owner Boy and Mariaan Spies, and management team to all the staff, they all are just the best people we have ever met.The rooms are always clean and if you need something they are there to assist you,The Meul Rest. has the most amazing food This is the place you want to be if you need friendlyness and peace and quite.We can only say this is one of our best places we have ever visited for such a long period and can recomend them any time you will be blessed.We can just recomment them as the most clean and friendly lodge in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice and big with aricons and fans. The selfcatering flats are huge and beautiful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy Bryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

In the heart of the Swartberg Mountains, this is the perfect get away spot. Close to the Cango Caves, Rus en Vrede waterfall, Oudtshoorn Center, +/- 50km from Calitzdorp lots to do in the area, resturant on premisis. This Guest farm is run by indiviuals that all seem to be one big family (not blood related) but they work towards one goal.....keeping the guest happy. Great breakfasts, Clean rooms, Aircons....We truley enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Book early if possible. We are always walk in's as we never know where we will beheading next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We made an unplanned stop at 'de Oude Meul' because our true destination was actually at Uniondale. Our friends highly recommended de Oude Meul and thank goodness we listened. The staff was available after hours which was a positive 1st impression for me because they actually closes at night. The rooms were in good clean condition. Bathrooms were in excellent condition. On top of everything they have there own beautiful restaurant which saved us trips to Oudshoorn. There location is also great as it's close to all the wonderful attractions Oudshoorn has to offer. One of the owners (think their surname is Spies) even borrowed my son a fishing rod for fishing in the local dam.
Personlly I had a great time at De Oude Meul and would recommend it for anyone!

Room Tip: If you go with a family ask for the rooms near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

De Oude Meul in the heart of the Little Karoo is a gem to be discovered, in the Oudtshoorn district, only a couple of kilometers from the natural wonder known as the Cango Caves. The level of service at this establishment is not found / bettered easily. The owners (the Spies family) also manage the resort, and are hands-on, from the moment you arrive, up to the last goodbyes are waved. The direct involvement of Marianne at meal times, and the knowledgeable information of the ostrich industry and the natural wonders of the region, enthusiastically shared by Boy, is a heartwarming experience. The Lodge is situated in a nice area surrounded by the Swartberg Mountains at Schoemans Poort. Their rooms are well appointed with ceiling fans and air conditioning for the hot summer days. In winter it could be cold, I presume, with all tiled flooring - no carpeting or rugs. We used De Oude Meul on a 4-day tour of the Karoo region with 10 guests, and this Lodge was rated as the best on this trip by all.

Room Tip: For elderly people, or people with a physical disability, choose the rooms closest to the dining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here April 2012 and pleased with this choice. A welcome retreat from constant travelling.Great hosts are fourth generation family working their ostrich farm. Guests welcome to stroll on site. Room clean and functional, breakfasts excellent-a wide selection for all tastes. One breakfast kindly cooked on request. Two wonderful meals at the restaurant on site- many locals enjoying food and ambience with us. Fifteen km from Oudtshoorn and also Cango Caves (must visit). Great venue for crossing Swartburg Pass to Prince Albert.

Room Tip: Staying in rooms ajoining breakfast rooms were great as parking was just along shared verandah. Tran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in room 1 & 2 next to the restaurant with our 2 kids. The rooms were pretty basic and lack any charm - lots of tiles and cheap furnishings. The entrance could be mistaken for a prison. But in fairness they were clean and did have an aircon which is critical in this area. Both rooms open onto a common kitchen/lounge area with a great view over the grass and down to the river.

The grounds are pretty with a farm dam in the middle, a trampoline and jungle gym for the kids and a reasonable pool area. A river runs through the property making it a bit of an oasis in a dry area. The road runs close to the hotel but there was very little traffic or noise. We didnt notice any game.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which had a decent deck area outside. We found the food to be pretty good and well priced. The wine was also reasonable but the service was a little clumsy.

The breakfast was buffet style. I suggest that any budding hotelier stay for breakfast just to see how it shouldnt be done. There was a fairly small selection of fruits and some cereals that had lost their crispness some time ago. But the best part was the bacon. On approaching the silver bacon container the guard (a lady) lifted the lid and put a tiny peice of bacon on my plate before slamming the lid shut as if she were guarding the crown jewels. She very reluctantly put a second peice on my plate on request before informing me that I could do the scrambled egg on my own.

All in all though, I wouldnt write this place off completely. The owners are friendly and just seem to be a Karoo family trying to make an honest living even though some things may be a bit quirky. The room was inexpensive and if you are travelling with kids for a stopover at Cango Caves, it's not a bad option.

I'd reccomend a no-breakfast option unless you want to start the day with a laugh.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
10.3 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
949 reviews
9.5 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
152 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge 96
Lodge 96
#21 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Meul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Meul

Address: Near Cango Caves, Garden Route, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $50 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Meul 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located en route to the Cango Caves, De Oude Meul Country Lodge lies nestled at the foothills of the majestic Swartberg Mountains, in Oudtshoorn, Garden Route. The Lodge is situated in the beautiful Schoemanspoort, halfway between Oudtshoorn and the world famous Cango Caves on the R328. To overnight on this beautiful farm is an unforgettable experience. The lodge is surrounded by mountains, which together with the exotic plants of the Klein Karoo create a quiet serene atmosphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Meul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing