We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

What a surprise!
We drove from Cape Town to Oudtshoorn for the sole purpose of having breakfast with the meerkats! (I know, some people may think this is crazy) When I booked the room at De Zeekoe's I honestly did not pay much attention to the property.
What a surprise! This is truly an exceptional guest house. It oozes character and charm. The owner and manager did all they could to ensure we were comfortable and welcome. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant upon our arrival which was without doubt one of the best meals we had while in South Africa.
Our one regret? That we had only one night there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrina_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 949 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2010

Spectacular view from our room and terrace made us sleep with french windows open and curtains drawn back so that we could watch the dawn coming up! Each evening at turndown a special verse was placed on our bed. The location and view is De Zeekoe's real strength, with a lovely large grassy area and pool to sit by. This is not "chic/urban", more "country/rural", but quite delightful. Great dining terrace on which to enjoy breakfast. Breakfast itself was adequate but a little short on choice, we would have appreciated greater selection of fruit / muesli / yoghourt / croissants.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoelandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We were not entirely sure what to expect before we arrived here. The reality is that this is a pleasant and peaceful setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn. The rooms were well appointed and enjoyed stunning views from the verandas of each room. Niceties such as welcoming drinks and complimentary sherry in the rooms made for very personal touches. The food was very enjoyable and of a high quality and quantity.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have just returned from an extended trip around the cape area. De Zeekoe was one of the best guest houses we stayed in. We had 2 nights there but probably should have had 3. The room wasn't the biggest we had but was big enough. If I had something to suggest I would suggest they change the very hard chairs on the balcony to something a big softer but really we had nothing to complain about at all. Beautiful grounds. Lovely restaurant with a nice menu for dinner and a big breakfast. Paula was a delightful host who looked after us very well. When they knew we were celebrating our 40th anniversary they gave us a bottle of wine free at dinner and even presented us with an ostrich egg to take home to show our grandson.

Meerkat tour they booked was really something special.

Thanks to Paula and her team they were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Travel agent picked this stop for us, and we were not at all sure it was going to be worth the 6-hour drive from Cape Town. We had such a great time, though, we wish we'd had more than two nights. The hotel incorporates a lot of nice little touches into a lovely setting -- complementary sherry in the room, rooibos bath products, lots of ostrich feathers in the room accessories. The hotel is a 10-15 minute drive from town. The shower head is "rain-style." Dinner at the hotel was great, but the menu was similar two nights in a row, so we did not repeat. The town of Oudtshoorn exceeded our expectations, especially the C P Nel Museum, which is really not to be missed. We echo others' sentiments about the meerkat experience. Devey, the guide recommended by De Zeekoe, was knowledgeable and friendly, and the meerkats truly adorable. The predawn start, however, was not something we would repeat, and at about $60pp a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freetownexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Luxurious guest rooms at a farmhouse in the Little Karoo, 8km from Oudtshoorn. Excellent and varied food, good staff and the friendly, helpful and watchful proprietress, Paula.
OK pool on the banks of the Olifants River. You may have a tour of the Ostrich farm, but the dawn visit to wake up the meerkats is unmissable. Don't miss driving the Swartberg Pass either.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We really enjoyed the Zeekoe! De suite # 12 was beautiful, cool, private and in the Oudshoorn heat, the outside shower is a very nice. We enjoyed a lovely dinner. The family Potgieter and their management are great hosts and understand what hospitality means.
The meerkatten excursion was very nice and worth the value.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
17.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
204 reviews
13.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
344 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $82 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing