We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in Cabin with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had the pleasure of spending 3 days in one of the cabins with my family. We have 3 children under 6, and this proofed to be very suitable accommodation for us. Friendly staff with great advice on the area added to our experience, we will definitely be back.

Major renovations at the guest house area is under way, and I look forward to see the changes on a future visit.

Room Tip: Cabin worked perfect for the family - we had Kolgans / Egyptian Goose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 965 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights in April and had the most enjoyable time. We stayed in 2 interconnecting rooms which was just perfect for travelling with older children. The rooms were really comfortable with lovely little balconies and great bathrooms. The grounds were lovely, especially the pool and the bar area. We ate both nights in the restaurant and, while we thought the menu was a little limited, had delicious meals on both occasions. The same goes for the superb breakfasts! Great buffet with hot food to order, plus home grown fruits. A perfect base for visiting the local Cango Caves and the not-to-be missed Meerkat Adventure, which was one of the highlights of our trip! Thank you to all the staff at de Zeekoe for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyn2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Carolyn

Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review.
We are so proud of our staff and property for making your stay unforgettable.
Glad you had the opportunity to experience our hospitality, restaurant and especially the meerkat tour.
Always looking forward to welcoming you back :-)


Kind regards from cold Oudtshoorn
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

What an awesome and romantic one night getaway we had. Thank you Adri for assisting us on short notice over a public holiday. Thank you for making our 38th anniversary extra special. Your hospitality is first class. We have already recommended you to everyone! The rustic cabins are a haven of tranquility. Ideal for bird watchers, right on the lake. Dinner was fabulous and the breakfast made and served right on the porch was out of this world. We will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure you take binoculars with for the bird watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermanjb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Dear Herman

We are so happy that we were part of you romantic getaway & anniversary and that you enjoyed you stay on our farm. Proud of Adri for the professional service :-)
we hope that we can be part of your next anniversary.
Always travel safe!

" travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in De Zeekoe again this year - in a room almost identical to the one two years ago. Alas we only had time to stay one night. Our room had a balcony looking South across the Olifant river (behind plants cannot be seen) to the distant mountains. We also had a wonderful clear view of the stars including the southern cross. Comfortable 6ft bed with mosquito netting, good shower and great food in their restaurant. The breakdasts are spectacular. There is Wi-Fi arounf the receprion area/

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this family run 4 star working farm. De Zeekoe staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, offering little extras at every chance. We got up very early one morning to watch the very cute, but wild, meerkats start their day. Thank you Paula for your wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: We were told they are up grading the self catering cabins, which were great for a family. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meme532014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Glad that you had the opportunity to experience the meerkats and our lovely farm accommodation.
Thanks for you honest and lovely review :-)
Look forward to your next stay on our farm!

" Who lives sees, but who travel sees more "

Kindest regards
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the pleasant surprises of our garden route tour. Its a good place to stay to explore the ostrich capital. The poolside restaurant and bar is very nice. Highly recommended for a short sweet two nights stay!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Joydeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thanks for your positive review Joy.
Travel safe and we are looking forward to your next visit,

kind regards
Kristy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in a cabin in May as the farm was closed in this month. It didn't matter though as we still had access to the whole area & in the morning, breakfast was delivered & cooked at our cabin which was brilliant, especially after doing the fantastic Meerkat tour in the morning. We stayed here due to their association with the tour but were pleasantly surprised by the ambience of the cabin - there is an open fireplace & view of the lake.

Room Tip: Definitely book the Meerkat tour as well, it was a fantastic way to start the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Cheryl

Thanks for the positive feedback.
The cabins are such a special place and we are happy that you experienced the lovely nature and our hospitality.

We are looking forward to the new renovations at the main house, and to share it with you in the near future as well :-)

Regards from the meerkat valley
Kristy Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
17.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#10 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
190 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
971 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#8 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $86 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing