We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was not enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud
1 review
“One night was not enough!”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

My wife, 9 & 11 year old daughters and I visited Oudtshoorn as part of our trip from Cape Town to Port Liz. So many venues and so many places to see/things to do, the choice is overwhelming.

The decision to stay at Oudtshoorn and De Zeekoe Guest Farm was a resounding success, possibly our fondest memory of South Africa. (Though that's such a hard call)

It would appear that the team here are now making a concerted effort with their customer relationships after some recent negative reviews, we were made to feel like long lost family from start to finish.

We rented one of the 4 waterside cabins, no good if you're looking for a 50" plasma satelite TV and a jacquzzi in your marble bathroom, excellent if you want a clean log cabin on the side of a large pond surrounded by nature.

Hot water, shower room, fridge, drinkable water, air con, comfy beds with insect nets, a balcony overlooking a twitters paradise, a dawn chorus like no other, an unpoluted view of the night sky and a 2 man canoe, what an experience.

The farmhouse itself served us a top notch evening meal and a breakfast to match, all 4 of us are very different in our tastes and none of us were disappointed.

We unfortunately didn't get to use the outdoor pool or the bar but both looked very appealing and welcoming! We did however manage to see the Cango caves (1/2 hour drive), Safari ostrich farm (opposite) and best of all Grant the Meerkat man and the Meerkat magic (on the De Zeekoe Farm-check the meerkatmagic.com website).

We didn't realise the Salzberg pass was so close to the Cango caves and run out of time to explore the 80 km round trip to Prince Albert and back, neither did we spend any time exploring Oudtshoorn town, oh well, we'll just have to save up and return one day.

  • Liked — Nature
  • Disliked — Load shedding, lack of candles/torches
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank majabaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    257
    83
    23
    14
See reviews for
191
531
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We spent 2 wonderful days in the guest farm and would clearly go back. The hospitality, friendliness of the staff were great, the unique setting of the lodges at the lake wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were welcomed warmly by the manager Cindy, who gave us a great run down of what to see & do in the area. Room was lovely - with a huge fab bath and lovely views over the fields. Breakfast was lovely and although we only stayed one night would definately recommend.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catwoman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

My 2 teenage daughters and I arrived mid December. Weather hot and looking forward to a fantastic time. What a disappointment right from the start. The rooms were mixed up. We were directed to cabins on the lake that wern't suitable as I had booked rooms at the main house for security and convienience but we we upgraded to other "delux rooms" tacky. Flies everywhere. After an unrestful night I booked out. The owner was matter of fact "This is what living on a farm is like" I LIVE ON A FARM ALSO! They had the ordacity to suggest that I was breaking my booking and should pay for the 2 remaining nights but that was resolved . They should seriously look at their business. We moved on to simpler ,fresher and cheaper with extras.

  • Liked — Zippo
  • Disliked — Lack of help and understanding
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We had a fantastic couple of days in stunning surroundings eating wonderful food and looked after by a great team of people who went to exceptional lenghs to make sure we had a good time.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We loved our stay in De Zeekoe, and were only sorry it could not be for longer. The garden is beautiful and full of birds, the view and the serenity were wonderfully relaxing. The service was excellent, and the food was delicious. The whole experience made a great impression on us, and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Girlson2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Contrary to some of the other reviews, I spent two nights at De Zeekoe and have nothing but the best memories of an absolutely amazing stay. The owner and all the staff could not have done more for us, the food was excellent - home cooked, wholesome and delicious, and the accommodation was superb. The rooms are extremely comfortable with all the amenities that one could want- we stayed in the main part of the guest farm. Yes, there is the "early morning alarm call" from the many birds - the variety of birds seen ar De Zeekoe is amazing - but that did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. The Meerkat experience was simply the "icing on the cake". I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending De Zeekoe and can honestly say that we found it the most welcoming, comfortable and enjoyable place to stay.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and the stunning setting - not forgetting the fab food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
17.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
844 reviews
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing