We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved relaxtion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A well deserved relaxtion”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at De Zeekoe on Monday and had an absolutely amazing time, the staff were unbelievably helpful and organized. Had an early check-in and everything was ready. Fantastic views over the farmland and a fantastic meal the evening. Slept like a dream! Will most certainly go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hey Michelle

Thanks fo ra lovely review and stunning picutres :-)
Look forwrad to your next visit at de Zeekoe.

Kind regards
KristY Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    263
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
538
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stopped at Oudtshoorn after an exciting but long and exhausting drive from Franschoek. We were hot and bothered when we arrived, so pleased to have a friendly welcome, which included a cool drink. Our room was spacious, well furnished and very comfortable. After leaving our luggage we cooled off in the pool and were promptly served with beers, as we dried off on the sun loungers with a view of the distant mountains. We enjoyed a good meal in the restaurant and went to bed early, as the hotel has a link with Meerkat Adventures and had arranged an early morning meerkat safari for us. The meerkat viewing was amazing and we returned for an excellent breakfast.
The staff were efficient and helpful and De Zeekoe was well managed. I would definitely recommend a stay here (from Cape Town use Route 62 - so much better than the boring N2) on your way to the Garden Route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were a bit disappointed at first. The room we were shown to was dark & didnt have a decent view from the stoop. However we did warm to the place as you do feel to be in Africa here & there is a lot of space . Breakfast & dinner were very good but the service was a bit hit & miss. The highlight however was the meerkat trip which was amazing. You can do this trip if you stay elsewhere but you get a discount if you stay at De Zeekoe. There is an awful lot to do in this area & we could have done with another night (we stayed 2 nights ) If I was to stay again I would ask for a room with a view, this would have made all the difference & I would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of experiencing De Zeekoe! The accommodation is excellent, the food is delicious and the staff are very friendly and efficient!

The Meerkat adventure is a must! amazing place amazing people!
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Arrived early and while we waited for our rooms to be ready we were given tea or coffee and made to feel very welcome. Our rooms were well worth the wait, we had only booked standard rooms and they were absolutely lovely, they were also inter connecting which was rather nice
Everyone was really helpful and when they found out I had a birthday during my trip they made a real fuss of me giving me a bottle of wine and making me cake, all this and we were only there for one night
We did the Merekat tour and although it meant getting up before 5 it was really worth it, something my daughter and I will never forget.
The only disappointing thing was the fact we only had one night,I would not hesitate to recommend De Zeekoe and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suseype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the visit at de Zeekoe and the lovely review.

“Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.”
― Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

Kindest regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I recently did a trip up the West coast and back along the R62 through Ceres towards Oudtshoorn. It was such a beautiful road to travel with beautiful farm sights to see. We found a great spot to settle for the night. De Zeekoe Guest Farm just outside Oudtshoorn. After a warm welcome from Paula and Christy who were most helpful we were shown to our very comfortable room, beautifully appointed and beautifully decorated. The meerkat adventure is an absolute must be sure to get there on time to experience this. Our dinner was a lovely peaceful experience and the food ws absolutely delicious, made by the charming Trudie. So be sure to book . I would love to go back and experience the charm of the rustic waterfront cabins where peace and tranquility and just nature abounds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Raymond

What a pleasure accommodating you at de Zeekoe.
Thanks for the lovely review and happy you enjoyed your visit,.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

regards
Kristy Seyffert
“He who does not travel does not know the value of men.” – Moorish proverb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here in January this year. We were booked in to a luxury room so we were a bit dismayed to find ourselves in a room with little space around he bed and a balcony blocked in on booth sides with corrugated metal giving a sort of tunnel effect. My dismay was met with a distinct take it or leave it approach and I was firmly told that all rooms were the same size. However the restaurant was excellent (dinner & breakfast) and there were lots of birds to be seen. We decided to swim in the salt water pool but as it was thick with green algae and you could see neither the bottom nor the sides clearly it was not a very pleasant experience and we decided not to repeat it. Such a shame because the grounds are really interesting. By morning I'd had enough of the dark, cramped space and complained again, this time we were moved into a lovely room which was so much nicer. As all over Africa, most of the staff are so helpful.
However the absolute high point was the Meerkat Tour, it was an unbelievable experience to arrive in a field before dawn and to sit and wait for these wonderful animals to appear. So long as you only speak quietly and don't move suddenly, they completely ignore the presence of humans. The trip is run by Devey Glinister and is absolutely magical.

Room Tip: I think corner rooms are best as they have a view from the balcony and are lighter, it's the mid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I remember your visit at De Zeekoe end of January. You were booked into one of our lovely luxury rooms, with a great view of our farm and mountains. This is the first complained we ever had that the view/ space was to small and dark on the veranda.

Our rooms are graded every year by SA tourism and are 100% up to standard. I'm sure our luxury rooms would have been downgraded by now if the space and view was not 4 star level. Our luxury rooms don't have outside showers like the superior rooms, also a reason why you wanted to move.
Luckily we had a superior room open to upgrade you free of charge....after you insisted.

With regards to the pool : We use our own fountain water, and as mentioned on the BIG sign next to the pool, it's not algae, it's the natural calx content in the water.

regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
873 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
12.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing