We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation on the Garden Route”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed one night as part of our drive along the Garden Route from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. The accommodation is beautiful with real attention to detail and lovely views. We enjoyed the meals in the restaurant and prices were very reasonable. Whilst at De Zeekoe we visited the nearby 'Safari' ostrich farm which was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. We also got up early to meet Devey for the unique meerkat experience which was just amazing. It was such a privilege to witness the meerkats emerging from their burrows and Devey's knowledge was excellent. All in all well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stockport_UKJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for De Zeekoe Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 908 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days over Christmas, myself, my husband and our 3 children. This place is fantastic and is just outside the main town so has a real outback feel to it. The rooms are clean and spacious with lovely views out over the mountains. The pool area and gardens are perfect for relaxing in. We also did the merecat tour whilst we were here which was well worth getting up at 4 in the morning for. The place felt very safe and the staff pleasant and helpful. The only disappointing part was that we were under the impression that the farm was an ostrich farm and the children were exciting about this, but when we asked about the farm tour we were told they no longer had any ostriches. They did have lots of lovely brown cows though that sung to us early every morning. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for the visit over Christmas. I remember your family :-)
Glad you had a lovely stay and thanks for the review.

Look forward to future visits :-)

Always travel safe!
Kristy Seyffert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our first visit to De Zeekoe however not our first visit to Oudtshoorn so when we arrived here halfway the afternoon we didn’t feel the need to do any of the activities as explained by the very knowledgeable hostess upon arrival. Instead we decided to take it easy and simply relax in the pool since it looked so inviting on this hot day. And that was a pool with a view… Definite wow factor in this place. Great rooms, great views, great food and enough fun things to do to stay a week….

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreaterAddoJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Hey Julia

Thanks again for visiting our farm and happy that you enjoyed your stay!


kindest regards
Kristy Seyffert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed two nights here on the recommendation of our travel agency.

Although there are a lot of activities on offer we mostly lounged around our room, the pool and the wireless internet lounge.

Breakfast was great - hot food cooked to order and wonderfully tasty, my husband loved his omlete. We took advantage of the Meerkat Adventures run on De Zeekoe property and Davee was a great guide. After a small (< 1 km) walk with our chairs and cameras we staked out the meerkat overnight accommodation and spent then next couple of hours taking pictures of them coming out into the morning sun and scavenging for food.

We received a complimentary upgrade on our room without asking and it was wonderfully decorated with all amenities - we especially enjoyed the complimentary bottle of sherry that we partook of each afternoon and evening.

No complaints with regards to the service - the staff were extremely helpful with recommendations on activities to enjoy in the area, locations for early dining in Oudtshoorn and help with getting connected to the internet. We would definately return to relax some more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrissa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hey Carissa

Glad you enjoyed your stay at De Zeekoe :-) thanks for the lovely review.
Safe yourneys ahead!

Kind regards
Kristy Seyffert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked two luxury rooms and expected a view of the lush indigenous garden, but we were placed in two other rooms. The rooms were very spacious and had full en-suite bathrooms with open air showers. I guess the rooms were an upgrade. The rooms had ostrich cushion feathers, Persian carpets and lovely curtains.

We were a bit unfortunate with the “coffee and tea” facility in the room, as our room only had sugar and no coffee or tea. It is important that staff check this regularly. Even though there was insect repellent spray in the room, we were a bit overwhelmed with the amount of flies in the room as well as dead flies on the top of the mosquito net. It was almost impossible to open the doors due to the flies and a little bit of manure smell. I shared a bath with 4 lazy flies sitting next to me. I did not mind the manure smell as it was not overwhelming and is part of staying on a farm. Maybe an extra sieve door between the bathroom and outdoor shower, would help to keep the flies outside.

Breakfast was incredible and I must compliment the staff. They also served roosterkoek, which was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and also gave us discount vouchers to visit some of the Oudshoorn attractions.

Whilst staying at De Zeekoe, we visited the Cango Caves, Cango Wildlife, Oudshoorn (Langenhoven’s birthplace), etc. De Zeekoe Guest Farm is also very close to the Safari Ostrich farm.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

When we arrived despite having a e mail confirmation of our booking for a luxury room we were forced into standard accommodation due to a power cut! Despite being allocated room 8 in our original booking we were placed in the tour guide accommodation area at the back with no view.We spent the first night repeatedly asking to be put into the room we actually booked.Eventually this was agreed at 8pm and we were treated as if this was a favour and an upgrade (it was not) we had no apology or recompense.We had to repack our bags and move with no help or assistance which spoiled it for us.The breakfast was very very poor and the service terrible (one hour for a boiled egg) ask for everything from cutlery to cups mostly collecting bits from other tables ourselves in order to progress with eating.The setting is nice but the attention to service and detail lacking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Owner at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Janice BJeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews Reviews in 2 cities“Ok but poor service”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 NEW When we arrived despite having a e mail confirmation of our booking for a luxury room we were forced into standard accommodation due to a power cut! Despite being allocated room 8 in our original booking we were placed in the tour guide accommodation area at the back with no view.We spent the first night repeatedly asking to be put into the room we actually booked.Eventually this was agreed at 8pm and we were treated as if this was a favour and an upgrade (it was not) we had no apology or recompense.We had to repack our bags and move with no help or assistance which spoiled it for us.The breakfast was very very poor and the service terrible (one hour for a boiled egg) ask for everything from cutlery to cups mostly collecting bits from other tables ourselves in order to progress with eating.The setting is nice but the attention to service and detail lacking.gg

Hi Janice , thank you for your review ,this came as a toatally surprise , as you seen to be very happy whilst visiting De Zeekoe .It is very difficult to check in guests without a booking system , we did have a powercut ,the reason why our hard drive of our main computer crashed . All the tables were laid in the dining room , on your request to sit outside , this was done immediately . Our breakfasts is served from the fresh produce from our own farms and we offer a big variety to choose from daily .It does take an hour to cook an ostrich egg , so we do apologise for the long wait .Although we could not do toast , we did roosterkoek on the fire , for most guests this is an absolute treat . We proud ourselves in the training we offer our staff and waitresses on regular base. Interior design is one of my passions in life , all the rooms were upgraded with new curtains and persian carpets ,originallly artwork and flatscreen televisions , detail definitely not to be missed .

Regards
Paula Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Was a little disappointed in that this was billed in the literature that I read as an ostrich & protea farm. It may be, but guests aren't exposed to any farm activities. However, this is a professionally run establishment with clean room and staff that understands international travelers. It is well located & the staff has a handle on all the different options available to a traveler. The meal the 1st night was excellent and De Zeekoe owns the land the tour of meerkats is based upon so a guest gets a R50 discount.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
899 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
340 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $65 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing