We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, all around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
new england
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, all around!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Gorgeous, peaceful setting amongst the grasses and birds. We stayed in one of the 'superior' rooms with an indoor as well as outdoor shower, a canopied bed, and a balcony overlooking a field with beautiful birds to watch. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant while watching the sunset. The staff was excellent - friendly, professional, and helpful.last but not least, they support meerkats. We went on the tour they collaborate on with Meerkat Adventures.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cats2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    263
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
197
538
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We found De Zeekoe on Tripadvisor for a weekend stop-over for the family to visit Cango Caves and Oudtshoorn attractions. We were looking for a "farm" experience for the kids to run around and stretch their legs. De Zeekoe exceeded our expectations. V pleased with our choice. We were given 2 adjoining "Luxury" adjoining room which were v spacious, warm, and well appointed, replete with sherry decanter and all the lotions and potions to make the wife happy - not too far off a 5 star hotel appointment. Kids had a blast riding bikes, playing on the hay-stack, visiting the farm stock animals. The farm cat took a shine to my daughter. 3 course dinner was top rate – A glass of the "house red" was 9 year old Lourensford Pinotage. Dinner was of a similar standard – trout salad for starters, ostrich fillet - v tender in a delicious wine/balsamic reduction for main and pineapple pavlova. Service to compliment. Watched the rugby on DSTV in the main farm-stead area on DSTV in front of a v cosy fire. Similar experience to Mt Grace or Walkersons in their hey-day. V reasonably priced considering.

We were also well advised by the De Zeekoe staff on which child activities to visit, prices, closing times etc – Cango Caves tour, Ostrich farm tour, Camel rides , Go-cart rides, Ostrich rides, lunch at Surcat? Olive farm etc were all off De Zeekoe, all made for a memorable weekend.

Will return.

Room Tip: We booked the "Luxuary Rooms" adjacent to the farmstead - lot the "Cabins"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

De Zeekoe is a warm and welcoming guest farm. My fiance proposed to me here and the staff made such a fantastic effort to make it a romantic and happy occasion! Thank you De Zeekoe :) It's a lovely place to stay in winter, because all the rooms are really cosy and there are pleanty of fireplaces. The restaurant food was yummy - I highly recommend the homemade chicken pie!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room is stunning and the log cabins are so cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks for using de Zeekoe for this memorable occasion. You are a lovely couple and we wish you a blessed future together.
Look forward to your next visit 

Kind regards
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had my son's 1st birthday party at De Zeekoe. The venue was spectacular, with a stunning view of the river an surrounding area. The staff was friendly and very helpfull and we had great service and deliciouse chocolate cake! The venue defnitely contributed to the success of the party and we will in future make use of the venue again! Thank you to all the staff of De Zeekoe for a great day and for making this special occasion a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review :-)
Look forward to the next party!!
Kristy,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a lovely venue for a weekend in the country. Just a very short drive from the main road and your'e at De Zeekoe. Set on a working ostrich farm, it is more than a home from home. Beautifully decorated rooms with quality finishes and so comfortable. It can get cold in the Karoo but with the air conditioning and electric blanket the cold was kept outside. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast on the deck whilst enjoying the view was a great start to the next day. Service was efficient and friendly. Didn't have time to do the meerkat tour but that's a good reason to go again.

Room Tip: Our room had an enclosed garden with a water feature - lots of birds in the morning. the room opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulaOudtshoorn, Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Howard

Thanks for th lovely and honest review :-)
Look forward to your next visit at De Zeekoe.
Travel safe!

Kin dgrerda
Kristy Seyffert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Affordable country hospitality, beautiful Karoo sunset, swimming pool for the summer heat located on a working farm 8 km from Oudtshoorn. Excellent dinner and breakfast served in the restaurant. Thanks for the experience. Visitors can also book for the early morning Meerkat tour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoyed a night in Oudtshoorn and had wanted it to be a bit longer. A very friendly welcome and lots of information on what can be done in the area. The place has a very homely feeling, with many home made things. We had a rainy day but could enjoy dinner and breakfast. The farm is a bit out of town as you would expect, but instead offers the rural peace and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
873 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#3 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
12.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Property: De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing