We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meerkat magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed in a cabin that overlooked the lake, and I must say that some of the other reviewers seemed to be expecting a hotel room, not a cabin on a lake! The cabin was a little draughty (October) but the log fire and electric blanket more than compensate. We were offered the option of a room in the main house ( if we were too cold ) on check in, but once we had seen the cabin we were hooked. The staff were really helpful, sorting out a meerkat walk and a local restaurant for dinner on the second night. Food at the farm was great, the ostrich pie was just delicious! Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The breakfast buffet was self service, with a hot breakfast served to the table. The day we went on the meerkat walk they served us at 11.00am, well outside the call of duty!! The cabin was very peaceful, and the views stunning. We had no problems with the dawn chorus, what else would you expect in such a location? Would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 986 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2006

We stayed here 12/13 November 2006. The farm is about 7km from Oudtshoorn. We were given a cabin overlooking the lake. There was some traffic noise, but nothing to be worried about.

The cabins are about 2km from the farmhouse, but they provide a key to a gate which is only ½ km away. The cabin, which was two bedroomed, was rustic and not what we expected. Our hearts fell on first sight. It was well equipped with ample kitchen equipment and seating. There was, however no room safe. But it was not as luxurious as the other places we had stayed in thus far on our holiday.

Having said all this it grew on us and we loved the solitude and the birdlife, even those dancing on the roof at 4am. We left, having come to really like the cabin.

The breakfast was adequate, but on our first day, in the dining room, we were ignored completely, and on the second, one of us decided to breakfast overlooking the lake and the other one was only briefly spoken to. We're not sure why we were ignored, when other guests appeared to be spoken to. We were not shown round the property, nor informed that there was a bar.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2006

We visited De Zeekoe in November as part of a three week stay in South Africa.

De Zeekoe is a working Ostrich and Alfalfa farm, situated about 7km from the town of Oudtshoorn. There's a guest house and four log cabins overlooking a serene lake, which houses (amongst other things) 265 species of wild birds.

We stayed in one of the cabins, which was very pleasant - if a little basic in some areas. It was also a fair drive from the main lodge, but this seclusion was somewhat undermined by the rumble of traffic from the nearby main road. The views were spectacular though - there is very little to compare with the beauty of an african sunset and the onset of darkness, viewed while sipping a nice glass of Sauvignon Blanc!

Be sure and take (a) plenty of bug spray / repellent and (b) a pair of ear plugs - we heard most of those 265 species of birds at 4am, and they certainly do not respect the wishes of two weary travellers! We were shown round the farm though, and got to hold baby ostriches, which more than compensated for our lack of sleep!

The food was also disappointing - given we were on a farm we expected plentiful farm fayre for breakfast, but in relation to the excellent breakfasts served up by other guest houses we stayed on our trip, this one was poor in comparison.

All in all though, De Zeekoe is to be recommended, the scenery is stunning and its location is excellent.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank keithnshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Marco T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rsolanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sissi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeZeekoeG, General Manager at De Zeekoe Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
5.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
535 reviews
17.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
220 reviews
9.9 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Africamps Klein Karoo
Africamps Klein Karoo
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
190 reviews
16.8 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
475 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zeekoe Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zeekoe Guest Farm

Address: Route 328, Oudtshoorn | P.O. Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $88 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Zeekoe Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 7km outside Oudtshoorn, in the Garden Route, surrounded by the famous Swartberg and Outeniqua mountains, is one of the world's 17 "hot spots" with 3 overlapping flower zones. Surrounded by variety attractions like ostrich farms, longest wine route in the world (R 62), Cango caves, Wildlife ranch, waterfalls and museums, makes this the ideal destination for a visit or a stay over in the Klein Karoo. This owner managed, 3000 hectare working lusern farm, is malaria free, and child friendly. De Zeekoe offers a unique in the world opportunity to walk with Wild Meerkats (Meerkat adventures) and to be part of the shy 5 experience!From self catering to luxurious accommodation. De Zeekoe offers the following:• Wild Meerkat tours, home to the "shy five"• Accommodation: From Standard to Superior rooms ( 21 ) Rooms with views of mountains and gardens; 4 Waterfront cabins ; 3 x Private cottages with own pool. Wheelchair friendly rooms• Restaurant with fresh farm produce and free range meat• Cocktail Bar * Biking - bikes to rent• Community project with local school• Fishing - own equipment• Hiking• Going green with recycling , solar panels etc• Birding ( 162 species ) - private bird tours• Canoeing• Self guided walks• Massage relax zone - pre book• Swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Zeekoe Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Zeekoe Guest Farm Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing