We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Ranked #12 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We only stayed for one night at Altes Landhause Country Lodge but we wished we had booked to say there longer.

As soon as you drive up the drive you know it is going to be a lovely place to stay - very peaceful and beautiful gardens.

I am very critical but there was nothing to fault here. On our arrival we were offered an upgrade to our room at no extra cost to a room with a veranda overlooking the garden, four poster bed and best of all a double jacuzzi spa bath!

It is a 10/15 minute drive into town to eat but they offer a 3 course set price evening meal. We were immediately told that if we did not want all three courses they would adjust the price accordingly which suited us well as we normally only have a main course.

Helen, the owner, was lovely and would do anything for you. The Ridgebacks were beautiful.

We will definately try and organise our next holiday in South Africa around staying here for longer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margesimpson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2010

From the moment we drove up towards this Lodge we just knew it was going to be an amazing stay and a fantastic end to our first holiday in South Africa. The situation is unforgettable, the service and friendliness of the staff could not have been any better. I would recommend this lodge to anyone who is going to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romandalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

As others have said, a gorgeous property set 10 km north of the town. Well worth it to drive out of town which did not charm us. A short drive and you pull into a private, quiet and stunning property. You can absolutely see how much effort (and expense) they have contributed to making this place what it is. We had a poolside suite, which we loved - incredibly spacious, comfortable. Modern, sophisticated, with beautiful touches. Large and wonderful bathroom. The website photos do not do it justice!

So attentive. After a long day's drive to arrive, they offered us cocktails and held our table for a late dinner. Chocolates on the pillows at nights.

Rest of lodge is lovely. Very pretty eating area which is open and relaxing. Pretty pool area.

Breakfasts were our favorite on our 3 week journey. Our dinner was very tasty and would not venture into town.

Perfect location to explore area - Swartberg pass, cango caves, wineries, etc. We wish there was more we wanted to do in the area that we would have stayed longer. I would also recommend this as a place to relax and rest from touring.

What distinguished Altes from the other beautiful hotels we stayed along our 3 week trip was how warm, charming and personable the owner and staff were. It made a marked difference. We stayed at other places which were equally beautiful properties, excellent service and food but it was the personal experience that endeared us to the staff at Altes (and to admit, their wonderful two Ridgebacks)

We wish we could have stayed longer. Recommend to anyone and wish we can go back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Schoemanshoek, a tiny hamlet where the Altes Landhaus is located, is a great deal more attractive than Oudtshoorn, which is a sprawling industrialised town to the south. For the peace of this location, very close indeed to the famous Cango Caves, it is worth travelling the small distance out of town to reach it.

The Altes Landhaus itself, in Old Colonial style, is a rather grand former private home now converted into a stylish and warmly welcoming guest house. The 'presence' of the owners remains in all sorts of personal details, which gives the property great character. It is surrounded by charming gardens, against an impressive backdrop - the foothills of the Outeniqua Range through which the magnificent (and daunting!) Swartberg Pass threads its way.

We had a very comfortable and spacious room, impeccably clean and with lovely, vintage, embroidered bedlinen. The meal we were served included, of course, ostrich steaks (this is ostrich faming country and there are 'Feather Palaces' all around) and we enjoyed that very much too. All in all, we can recommend the Altes Landhaus most warmly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North-easterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I can't think of anything negative to say about this wonderful establishment. It is beautiful - from the drive, through the immaculate gardens to the house, pool and rooms. It is run with efficiency and charm by Yvette and her husband. The staff were fantastic too ! The whole place just makes you relax and not want to leave. Well done.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2009 - it was lovely to arrive here after a long drive from Stellenbosch and find a pool and friendly staff. We were upgraded to a suite - which was absolutely huge - in a cottage in the grounds. It felt very safe, the gardens were beautiful, and the pool was lovely.

We did feel a little young when staying there. And I think the set menu would have got a bit much after any more than two days. The food was good (not the best we had in SA - but not bad at all), and there was lots of it, but quite rich. It's a very pleasant place to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of Outdshoorn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtarmiganUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

The lodge is set in beautiful gardens with a great swimming pool area and the accommodation is first class. Staff are charming and directed by a dedicated manageress but they lack training. The owners we were told visit "very occasionally" and perhaps that reflects on the general level of service. Food was a very major disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
3.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
911 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
923 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#6 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Landhaus Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Landhaus Country Lodge

Address: | P.O. Box 1491, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $180 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altes Landhaus Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Altes Landhaus Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Landhaus Country Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing