We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Ranked #14 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2009 - it was lovely to arrive here after a long drive from Stellenbosch and find a pool and friendly staff. We were upgraded to a suite - which was absolutely huge - in a cottage in the grounds. It felt very safe, the gardens were beautiful, and the pool was lovely.

We did feel a little young when staying there. And I think the set menu would have got a bit much after any more than two days. The food was good (not the best we had in SA - but not bad at all), and there was lots of it, but quite rich. It's a very pleasant place to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of Outdshoorn.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtarmiganUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

The lodge is set in beautiful gardens with a great swimming pool area and the accommodation is first class. Staff are charming and directed by a dedicated manageress but they lack training. The owners we were told visit "very occasionally" and perhaps that reflects on the general level of service. Food was a very major disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

We could not fault this wonderful small hotel. Our drive to the entrance through the bouganvillia lined driveway did not disappoint. The staff were so welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, well furnished and overlooked the immaculate garden. The pool was set in a sunny section of the garden and we spent hours watching the birds building their nests among the trees. As for the food! It was magnificant! An ideal place to relax, we wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank Eliza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I cannot fault this place. We were made to feel very welcome.Our room was huge , tastefully decoarated and faced the beautiful gardens.The pool area is very relaxing with an honesty bar.The meal at night was excellent and the setting was so relaxing.I only wished we had stayed longer as there is quite a lot to do around this part of the Route 62.We certainly will book again.I would not change anything.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

It is very difficult to find any fault with this hotel. Staff were unfailingly cheerful and efficient. Room was very comfortable, very clean and immaculately decorated and appointed, down to the umbrellas required in a garden room. Our aircon failed late one evening and we were immediately offered a change of room with them moving our gear while we were at dinner. Food also excellent, though for a long stay maybe you would get tired of the limited menu. But I think a limited menu enables them to provide high quality.
Internet slow, but easily available and free.
Gardens and outside areas delightful, as was the lounge with honesty bar and library.
The boss always worked the room during dinner, spoke to every guest and made sure that everyone was happy, if she heard of any problems she disappeared, then reappeared with it sorted.
However her staff are so well trained that this was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hertsman025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

don't be put off by a few of the other comments on this place - our stay was magical - great, friendly staff - lovely large very clean room with an enormous bed - Spectacular grounds and fantastic food - one of the top places we stayed in SA

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Guy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We liked everything about our stay at this place. The room was large and very well furnished with quality fittings. The staff were very friendly and professional throughout our stay. The management is excellent and very much 'hands-on'. The garden setting is beautiful and the restaurant looks out onto this aspect; there is also a very relaxing lounge well-stocked with books. There is a fixed price evening meal available, the food was good. There is a free internet terminal available.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaiBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
12.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
908 reviews
3.8 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Landhaus Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Landhaus Country Lodge

Address: | P.O. Box 1491, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $187 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altes Landhaus Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altes Landhaus Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Landhaus Country Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing