We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Buffelsdrift overnight as part of our Port Elizabeth to Cape Town Garden Route tour. It was our first time in South Africa and having never stayed at a Game Lodge before was not sure what to expect, especially when our tour guide told us we were staying in tents. (I had not signed up for camping). My first glimpse of Buffelsdrift took my breath away. What a stunning location by the lake with restaurant and accommodation designed in keeping with the game lodge theme. Our ‘tent’ took glamping to a whole new level. The only thing that resembled a tent was the canvas sides. Perfectly located beside the lake our tent had a beautiful wooden floor, and was equipped with all the comforts including an en-suite bathroom, air conditioning and an outdoor shower surrounded by bamboo poles for privacy. There was a private deck where we could enjoy the stunning views overlooking the lake. The setting was idyllic. What an amazing experience it was waking up to the unfamiliar sounds of birds and animals. Stepping outside our tent we could see springbok drinking from the other side of the lake, a variety of different birds and hear hippos snorting as they surfaced. There was even a kudu a few feet away from our tent looking absolutely magnificent in the early morning sun light. We enjoyed a delicious dinner of ostrich steak at the restaurant and in the morning there was a sumptuous buffet that offered a generous selection of both continental style and cooked breakfast. For both meals we were seated outside on the deck overlooking the lake. Before leaving we had the opportunity to feed the African elephants that had been raised at the lodge and learn so much more about them. That was a special experience, never having been that close to an elephane before. Back home again, compiling my photo album and writing this review, I would have to say that staying at Buffelsdrift was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa.

Room Tip: We were accommodated in the last tent at the end of the path. It was a bit of a walk to the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWoman03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 911 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was absolutely fabulous and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The luxury tents are fabulous and very comfortable. One can visit there during the winter as well due to air conditioners which keep you nice and warm, as it does get very cold in the winter. Thanks to all the staff making it such a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I travelled here from Hout Bay, Cape Town area for 3 days with my family. There were maybe 13 of us in total including kids. It was really beautiful and we stayed in magnificent glam tents (huts/wooden cabins) for the time we were there. They were so well equipped, with really comfortable beds, amazing bathrooms and outdoor bamboo area showers. The luxury tents on the lake front have a terrace and are probably the nicer option, However, even if the other tents are not on the waterfront they're still perfect. There were hippos in the water right in front of us and elephants a short walk away whom you could pet and sit up on. We went on an afternoon safari to see the various wild animals in the area. It was great fun. The restaurant was fantastic, we were able to all sit together out on the terrace in the open air and there was ample choice for all meals. There was a small swimming pool with lounge beds next to the lake with fresh water to drink and fresh towels to avail of. The whole complex is really well looked after and is delightful. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Lake front is maybe better, however it is lovely everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alihann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

What a truly magnificent way to spend a night out in the Karoo. We left the City of Cape Town in floods and arrived to the most perfect welcome and sunset, followed by sun downers to the sound of hippo's wallowing and a wonderful dinner with fantastic service. Even though the temperature was close to freezing we slept with our luxury tents open to let in the fresh crisp air and uninterrupted view of the stars. We were woken to the sound of birds and then then spend the morning witnessing Meerkats venture out of their burrows, one by one to soak up the sun before starting their daily routine. Thank you to all the very warm and informative staff for making our stay a very memorable one. Well will be back. Thank you from Bushbaby Tours

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BushbabyTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

WE are a family of 4, with boys of 8 and 11. They were so excited to be sleeping in a fancy tent...which is very different to our usual camping. The tent was luxurious, has a hot outside shower, comfy beds and a beautiful view of the dam. Right across from us were 3 hippos basking in the sun. The boys slept on mattresses on the floor , which made the tent a little bit of a tight squeeze, but it didn't really matter. The tent was warm on a cold Karoo night and we had a fantastic breakfast at the restaurant the next morning. Well done Buffelsdrift.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Can highly recommend staying at this place. We stayed for 3 nights in a luxury tent overlooking the waterhole where we watched hippos bask in the sun. It was so peaceful and tranquil. Then tents were clean, had a beautiful bathroom and spacious sleeping area with aircon/heaters. The food was great - lovley restaurant. Staff friendly. Game drive was fun and ranger knowledgable (We had Elton - he was lovely and so passionate about his work and nature).We had a great time and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pottingshedaccom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent value! Great family getaway. Neat, clean and very professional. Excellent game drive with knowledgeable guide. Dinner at the Restaurant is an absolute must. Service all round is outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teressa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
14.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
190 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
184 reviews
4.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $173 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing