We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This game lodge combines a central restaurant, bar, lounge, curio shop and reception with about 25 high end tented accomodation that are the equivalent of 4 or 5 star hotel rooms. Hard wood flloors, large bath, open shower, comfortable beds, air conditioner all within a large tented structure.
The game drive was interesting and we saw most expected wild life including a lonely rhino, giraffes, gnus, springboks, waterbuck etc. Missed the buffalo. Food in the restaurant was good with excellent service. My ostrich fillet was tough but that happens.

Excellent service with golf carts to run you out to your tents and to the parking area. Another example of excellent service was that when we were having breakfast on the balcony we saw a large turtle and big carp fish around where we were sitting. When we discussed this with our waitress she volunteered to bring some chopped up bread for us to feed the fish, weaver birds and turtles. Fun!

One minor complaint is that when we checked in we were asked if we wanted to go on a game drive in the evening and in the morning but we were not told that there was an extra charge. We would have agreed to the charge but it would have been good to know. We thought it was in the package. Always good to be clear.

So it is not cheap, no South Africans to be seen mostly northern Europeans especially Germans enjoying the atmsophere. But a memorable experience

Room Tip: Near the water though this is noisy in the mornings from the water birds and hippos
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 897 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Unfortunately I did not have the pleasure to overnight at the resort but have done a Game Drive or Safari that I enjoyed but I had the pleasure to have dined there a few times and this is a MUST DO when ever you in the OUDTSHOORN area, even if you just make a stop to have a beer. Entrance is free so you welcome to drive in and go enjoy a meal or drink. The setting is unbelievable beautiful with the outside deck build around a very large dam where you can see Hippo, lots of very large fish in the ware and maybe a Elephant or two.
But lets get back to the food, for lunch you must try a ROOSTERKOEK, out of this world. You can actually try any thing on the menu. Dinner is some thing else the BUFFET is EXCELLENT as well as the ALA CARD menu, you can try the Venison and Ostrich any time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

When we went to dinner, a hippo appeared across the dam. On our way back to our "tent", a wildebeest was scratching his horns on a bush. The next day a tortoise made his way lazily down the walking path. On our bush drive we saw water buffalo and giraffes (and many deer-like creatures). The food is exquisite. The tents are lavishly appointed, and the beds are very comfy. It IS NOISY at night. You are on a game-reserve and the animals call out to one another. They provide ear plugs, but we slept just fine without. If you are thinking about it, just go.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2012155017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013


Even after reading the various reviews , we really didn't know what to expect.
Well, we only spent 1 night there but going on an elephant ride was a lifetime experience.
The day before we fed the 3 elephants who are looked after by a team of lovely guys who make your stay so memorable.
Everyone's accommodation is similar to a normal and nice hotel bedroom and ensuite but under canvas, in your own detached floorboarded tent protected by a wooden frame. The bed was great and the mini bar full.
Most of the tented lodges abutt the lake frequented by lots of birds and 5 or so hippos.
My wife used the bath and for me it was the outside but private attached shower.
We dined at the restaurant which was fine.
There are other activities to do at Buffelsdrift but we didn't have time to try any.
We'll be back

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil946443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed a night at Buffelsdrift as part of our organised tour, and would loved to have stayed on for several nights. Our tented accommodation was superb - everything we could have wished for was provided, including electric blanket for the cold night. It was too cold in July for the outdoor shower, but the claw foot bath was luxurious. Our 'elephant experience' was one of the truly special moments of our whole South African trip - feeding such a magnificent animal and then having it give you a cuddle! Even being woken at dawn by the hippo snorting in the lake beside our tent made for an unbelievable alarm clock. The restaurant at Buffelsdrift offered a menu of difficult choices, but we decided to sample the ostrich steak, which was superbly cooked and melted in the mouth. Buffelsdrift is a truly wonderful place, set in spectacular scenery, with every luxury you could desire, and fantastic service by friendly and attentive staff. It fully deserves all five stars.

Room Tip: A lakeside room is absolutely beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This resort is one if the best in the area .. we went for our honeymoon tosouth africa and decided to stay here !! They have an amazing location with a personal lake and safari park .. their restaurant was beautiful with great game options in the menu .. loved the food !! BUT the only this that upset us was inspite of informing them in advance that we are on our honeymoon, still they gave us a tent in back without a view .. we werr heavily disappointed. . When we arrived, we requested for a lake view tent but they said theyre sold out .. that was a let down. . Please dont do this with others.. rest everything was great!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1559AD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We should mention that our tents were positioned by a landscape architect, ensuring that each tent has its own view over the waterhole and Swartberg Mountains. Also there are no specific tents allocated to honeymoon couples, seeing that choices differ from couple to couple. All our tents are 4 star rooms with canvas just for the atmosphere; therefore our Waterfront tents aren’t more luxurious as such. We always go out of our way to make sure that our honeymoon couples feel special and have a memorable time at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, with a surprize refreshment to welcome them to their tent. If requested, we are more than willing to move guests to a tent of their choice, but it is subject to availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Couldn't believe it when we came across this place on our travels round South Africa, spent two wonderful days here, stunning place, excellent, friendly service. Everything was made so easy and relaxing for us. Gorgeous, glamorous tent with all the home comforts and luxuries and lovely to be staying near some lazy hippos :) We were treated like V.I.P.s and the food is superb. Completely recommend it :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelfitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
907 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
295 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $123 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing