We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable tented experience on a lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable tented experience on a lake”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time. Special mention to Estie, the manager, who went the extra mile for us and immediately sorted stuff out when we had issues with the linen in tent. Outstanding, professional response. Good food (tip: go for the pepperdew fillet), and local brew (karuso) delicious, on an amazing lake packed with massive Carp. The elephant feeding is highly recommended... Nothing like an "elephant hug" with a trunk. The elephant handlers were brilliant and I hope the lodge looks after them. Tents were amazing, although in parts getting a bit worn and will be in need of a refurbishment... But the big picture was great, and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewBuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the exceptional review. Our managing team is always attentive to our guests' needs. We appreciate the positive feedback. The maintenance is an ongoing process and we will be sure to look into the points mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    231
    55
    31
    6
See reviews for
254
440
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Kids loved it! Tent , amenities and setting incredible. Game drive , elephant ride out and staff all top notch! Would recommend to anyone. Noisy neighbours a problem - chinese tour group one night and noisy kids uncontrolled from cape town next.......despite that the only way to camp ( in style) and experience Oudtshoorn

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingpete6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Situated only a stones throw from OUdtshoorn on the Cango Caves road, Buffelsdrift combines the bush experience with luxury accommodation. The tented camp is positioned along the man-made dam/watering-hole ideal for sunset game viewing. Families and couples are catered for as well as events and functions. A small reserve with big appeal.

Room Tip: Waterfront tented camp for the full experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We celebrated my husband's 50's birthday with our two kids. What a wonderfull experience for the whole family. We especially enjoyed the game drive with game ranger Lucius. The rest of the staff at the lodge was also very warm and friendly. Thanks Marone and Danielia! We hope to visit you again to experience the elephants!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Accomodation and Food where very good, but we had a wedding taking place in the afternoon, and a loud party starting after midnight.
We think, that functions and bush-loving guests shoud not be mixed up at a serene place in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Ask at the time of your booking, if there are any functions on !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Buffelsdrift is the perfect place to unwind and just be. We had a awesome stay with gorgeous views, stunning sunsets and warm hospitality. The food was well presented, on time and just delicious. It's the perfect place to just be and enjoy the smells and sounds of nature.

just perfect!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arno p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were referred to Buffelsdrift Game lodge by close family. Wow, what a surprise to see and experience such a pleasant and well equipped operation so close to the town of Oudtshorn. The restaurant, the service and the food is excellent. The view over the dam magnificent! A highlight for us (especially my wife) was the game drive. We saw quite a number of game and got quite close to some of them making for an excellent photography opportunity. The game ranger was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our tended accommodation right on the dam was very well equipped and very comfortable. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
894 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
3.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
282 reviews
9.2 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Property: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing