We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great Location, wonderful tent, very nice and competent staff, Gourmet Restaurant and everybody was so friendly, viewing hippos just from our terasse, great Safary and nice Horse Ride..a outstanding stay and not the last time ! We will be back

Room Tip: Try to get a tent at the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hansueli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    207
    50
    28
    6
See reviews for
227
402
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

To visit Buffelsdrift is to experiance peace of an magnitude only the priviledge of a few. The staff are all stunning and unique in their own way. The setting, wild life and surrounds with the most stuuning sunset with the hippos a mere 50 metres from our tent cannot be beaten.To awake to the grunts of the hippos the final day was like a rare diamond. I Married mine 30 years ago on the 30th of April to spend this time with her......................... MAGIC.

Thank you Buffelsdrift and staff. You deserve all acolades bestowed upon you.

We will be back.

Hannes30

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My son & my 2 grandchildren & I were most fortunate to spend the two penultimate days of our first ever South African trip at Buffelsdrift....spectacular...even feeding the 3 elephants in pouring rain was not a downer!! Warming up in front of a roaring log fire in the restaurant after was most welcome, but not exactly what we had envisaged of SA!!
The hippos kept their distance...we did see 3 heads in the water & later, on a Game Drive one had managed to reach a fair distance from the water!!
I think we were forunate to see a fair number of the animals there, & retired gratefully to the amazing "tents" lakeside for a slightly noisy night. We had obviously been visited by some (not dangerous) animals in the night, judging from the "poos" around next morning.
Spent a lot of time watching the amazing weaver birds in the trees by the restaurant, which served excellent food at all times. Look out for the huge swallows nest on the way up to the reception area.
I hope to visit again...but if I don't then I have lovely memories. The guys who look after the three orphaned elly's (now all 10 yrs old+) are super!

Room Tip: Try to get a tent at the far end of the dam! Great views & near the wild bit!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Greatest place to visit!! A must do! Great food, luxury accommodation! Will def be back again. The elephant feeding is an added extra to an extraordinary place. A great place for couples for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We did not stay here, but we did have an excellent meal, for which the review is written under the restaurant's name. What I just wanted to say was that I unfortunately did not know one should book well in advance for the elephant safari. I did not and therefore missed out. I did however participate in the meet/greet and feeding session of the elephants. This was such a mind blowing experience that I came away quite tearful, having thoroughly enjoyed it. The head keeper was very informative and his two colleagues were very nice. I cannot describe how touched I was by the whole experience of learning about these beautiful creatures and having the experience of being able to sit on one and pet all three as well as feed them. Thanks for a time of my life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSilver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Only one regret about Buffelsdrift: we only had one night here! A super-nice experience all around. We have timed our arrival for the afternoon Game drive, guided by the awesome Llewelyn, which my wife and I both totally enjoyed, first time doing anything like this. Rhino, a wide selection of "bokken", buffalo, hippos and giraffe, what a treat. And then a superb dinner on the Lodge patio, great food & drink, while watching the elephants come by. The "tentalow" housing was great - I loved the outdoor shower - comfortable, luxurious yet with a feel of being in the wild. Woke up early to watch the wildlife grazing along the shore across the lake from our porch deck, all kinds of ducks & birds flying, with the moon shining above before the early Game drive, another beaut of an adventure, before an ample and tasty breakfast - and turtles making an appearance in the waters around the Lodge. A truly wonderful stay and again: don't make our mistake, don't book just one night! We sure hope to return one of these years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlasCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

My hubby and I could recommend Bufflesdrift more!
We stayed here for one night for a belated anniversary whilst on holiday visiting our family and neither him or I wanted to leave!
From the moment we arrived we were attended to with a very high level of service from all members of staff. We were taken to reception where a member of staff was waiting with refreshments to check us in, then shown to our luxury tented accommodation.
Shortly after we arrived we were ready for our elephant ride which was incredible! Unfortunatly due to the high temperatures (41-42 that day) I felt faint towards the end of the ride and had to stop and get off.
During this slightly daunting experience the staff could not have been more helpful. They had the elephant sit down so I could be lifted off and phoned reception to bring water and take me back to the starting point in a buggy. Two members of staff stayed with me and made sure I was feeling ok and whilst I felt incredibly embarrassed, I felt reassured and cared for, I couldn't thank them more!
The rest of the stay included an amazing three course meal overlooking the dam and the hippos, a very comfortable nights sleep, use of the pool which we had to our selves and an early morning games drive, where our tour guide Henk was very informative and friendly.
During our stay we phoned room service twice to request towels for the pool and both times they were taken to the pool immediately and were waiting for us when we arrive.
We would defiantly return to Bufflesdrift, it was the perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
9.2 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Property: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing