We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pearl in the Little Karoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Pearl in the Little Karoo”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place is a magic place in midst of the little Karoo. Stunning views, spacious accommodation and very good service. Game plenty and lots of activities.A must for every discerning traveller. Food is excellent and the nights are quiet.

Room Tip: Tents on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    232
    55
    31
    6
See reviews for
260
441
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I spent 3 weeks here as a volunteer in August and had an amazing time. As most of the other reviews on here say - it is an absolutely beautiful place to stay. Being a volunteer I was up before most of the guests and would eat breakfast in the restaurant watching the mist lift of the lake showing the hippos swimming as the sun rose. If you're up early enough at that time of year it's lovely to watch, especially as the surrounding mountains had snow on them.
I ate all my meals in the restaurant so after 3 weeks I pretty well placed to say that the food was delicious and the portions huge. The restaurant looks out over the lake and there's outside seating too which was nice for lunch when it was sunny.

During the day there were safaris to go on or elephant feedings and walks to do. All 3 are a must, on the safaris the guides are good enough so that you almost always see the animals you want to - and even if you don't the views are pretty spectacular. With the elephant experience you get the chance to feed the elephants who will give you a hug with their trunks and you can sit on them. They were particularly popular with families. You can go on elephant rides through the bush too, or on a horse if you prefer!

I didn't stay in the tents but lived with the guides in a house a short walk away so I can't comment on the accommodation other than to say it looked very comfortable.

Overall though I would recommend to anyone, for the excellent staff and food, the number of activities to do both on the lodge and in the surrounding area, and for the beauty of the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Buffelsdrift is a "must do" experience. The gorgeous sunsets, peaceful mornings, wildlife, friendly and helpful staff, fantastic restaurant - and the friendly hospitality that makes one want to return. It offers a relaxed atmosphere for those who just want to sit and read and watch wildlife, or activities including horse riding, bush safaris, and not to be missed the amazing and delightful elephants and their trainers - simply joyful.

The managing director and his wife - ensure guests are satisfied and their friendliness is contagious. The reception team, the top-notch safari guides and all of the restaurant cooks and assistants - ensure a quality experience. Make sure you try the unique Bufflesdrift salad - delicious - and you have to see the "ellies" - maybe go for a ride - or a visit and feeding. I would recommend this experience to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarysTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We didn't actually stay here but popped in when it was recommended to us. I was actually quite appalled at the lack of service. We waited for ages in the restaurant area to get served and a couple of members of staff walked passed without acknowledging us at all. I suppose I wouldn't have thought too much of it if it hadn't been so highly recommended to us!
Don't get me wrong, it was a beautiful setting, absolutely gorgeous! I actually watched a wedding with elephants from the distance! So gorgeous! However the lack of service really did bring it down. I'm sure they were just having a bad day though - I would still try again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou-la-Belle-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
As you mentioned that you did not stay here, we would have preferred you to put this comment on Buffelsdrift Game Lodge's Restaurant's Tripadvisor as you only refer to the service (But thank you for taking the time to write this review). We are known for our excellent service and have been voted one of the top 3 Game Lodges in South Africa for three consecutive years. You mention that you watched an Elephant Wedding from a distance - when there is a wedding, the majority of the clients are people attending the wedding and therefore our waiters serving on the deck probably thought that you were wedding guests. This matter has been brought to the attention of our Food and Beverage Manager. We humbly apologize for you not receiving the necessary attention. We trust and believe that when you visit us again, you will receive the excellent service and affordable food which we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Cape Pioneer MTB race started on the Buffels Drift private game farm. I booked tented accommodation with buffet breakfast included. The owners of the farm were very involved in serving the patrons and making sure everyone felt welcome, this was a comforting experience!

The tent I stayed in overlooked a damn that had fish, birds and huge hippos. There were paths leading from the tents around the damn, so at sunset you could take a peaceful walk around the damn, listen to the wildlife and enjoy the tranquility.

The service was great at the restaurant. Breakfast was included, the first morning I went to breakfast I tried everything on the buffet table. The last morning I stayed I needed to eat oats porridge before my race, they didn't have that the first day, so I requested outs for my race and they were more than happy to prepare what I wanted.

I would certainly stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraaifontein, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is an experience I would share with everyone. Estie and her staff made us feel so welcome from the first minute we arrived at the lodge. Service, accomodation and food was 5 star!! We would like to say special thanks to Sumone Venter, Alicia de Wet and Patricia Malgas for their excellent service at the tent. You made our honeymoon and stay there very special. Memorable. I can with all honesty say this is worth your while to go and visit Buffelsdrift. Estie helped us with accomodation on very short notice and really went that extra mile for us. My wife and I would just want to say THANK YOU for an great time. You are 5 star!! Thanks to each and every staff member at Buffelsdrift, you were all very friendly and helpfull. Mr & Mrs Kriel - Paarl

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelleCarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent one night at Buffelsdrift during October 2012 and could not have been happier with our choice. I've read reviews on TA about people being disappointed with the Tented style of accommodation, but really - what would you expect from a tent? In fact, I think its a fantastic alternative and my first stay in a tent on safari and absolutely loved it!

The tent is spacious and very comfortable, with 2 outdoor decks - one at the entrance and one facing the dam where resident hippos can be spotted. There is also an en-suite bathroom (spacious) and a private enclosed outdoor shower.

Once you've announced yourself at the security / entry gate, you make your way to the parking bay and they send a buggy up to collect you and your luggage and transport you to reception for check-in, then to your accommodation. Some of the tents are situated a short walk from the main lodge & dining area, but you could just phone reception and have someone sent over to collect you in their buggy (at no charge).

The game drive was outstanding - we started seeing game just 1 minute into our game drive! Our ranger was extremely knowledgeable and was happy to answer any questions we had. We were given great insight into the animals and flora, stopping along the way to sample some of the plants and herbs even. JD was our ranger and we couldn't have asked for better - he's a total asset to Buffelsdrift and I cannot commend him enough on his outstanding service!

At dinner, the restaurant was quite full. We were made to feel very welcome by our waitress and not rushed at all. The food was great and so was the wine.

Breakfast was a full buffet of hot and cold stations, a variety of fresh juice, coffee & teas. Again, we were made to feel welcome and relaxed.

The main lodge is great for relaxing and getting some 'me-time'.

There is a swimming pool available as well for the warmer days.

Overall, I was very impressed and the lodge exceeded my expectations greatly.

Highly recommended and I wouldn't hesitate in going back again! Very fond memories and terrific game drive with a sunset stop - beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
179 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
313 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
4.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Property: Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing