We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back again and again and again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In August we had our 3rd visit to Buffelsdrift and once again we had the most awesome time! The personnal is so friendly and helpfull. The food is delicious. The bush Safari's are eventful and interesting. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Michelle, it is always a pleasure for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge and our staff to welcome guests back. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we sure do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 897 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

The most breathtaking location and setting i have stayed in, the tent was a unique experience, the free standing bath in the en-suite with views out over the lake was awesome, the outdoor rain shower very refreshing and the decked area off the main room taking you feet away from the hippos bathing in the lake was just beyond expectations. Practical things such as air-con and comfy bed were spot on. The main lodge where we ate evening meals is again just the most perfect setting with views across the lake to the mountain ranges beyond. The staff were all very relaxed and friendly and willing to share their knowledge of the local area. We went on a sunset safari which lasted a few hours and gently wound its way up through the reserve to some truly amazing views and a sunset i will never forget. The safari guide was a character who really brought the place to life and was excellent at spotting the wildlife.

Room Tip: Our tent / lodge was on the waters edge which was perfect to get close to the hippos who were bathin...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobodoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for writing this lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our Game Lodge. Hope to see you in the near future to experience this unique experience again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Buffelsdrift and the highlight was definitely the elephant safari, it had the teenagers talking for long afterwards. Staff also very friendly and overall very hospitable. The tents are also very luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristelle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

What an awesome experience indeed! Malaika, Bolelu & Jabari are like family. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have had the most amazing, relaxing 3 day stay. The tents are very comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, food delicious - definatley recommend this place and will be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntheRoad180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for the review and your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the unique bushveld experience in the relaxing atmosphere. Hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My hubby and myself spent 3 amazing nights of our honeymoon at Buffelsdrift and I couldn't be more satsisfied about deciding to stay there!

Everyone is so friendly, helpful and makes you feel comfortable. We stayed on the 2 night package and 1 night B&B only.

Boy, what a mistake it was to order a meal for each of us! I barely touched my delicious kudu burger as the chips and salad was a meal by itself, never mind the massive burger staring me in the eye! Most definitely the best food I've tasted in a very long time, and the pudding was TO DIE FOR. . . . . . . a cocktail on their deck overlooking the river and hippos and absolutely beautiful mountain scenery, what more can you ask for!

The excursions, the game drives and the overall experience could not be perfected in any way! The weather was perfect and the evenings were cold, but just more reason to snuggle up and stay cozy while listening to the hippos in the distance.

My highlight of the trip was the elephant feeding. What a great excursion to include in a package, and so amazing to be so close to such a wonderful animal. To me, that most definitely made our last day there worth every second!

Absolutely amazing and I would most definitely try my best to go back there for our anniversaries!

A big thanks to each and everyone that we had contact with.

Fred & Vivienne Bownes

Room Tip: the waterfront luxury tents are on the river and absolutely anyone would be perfect overlooking the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Fred and Vivienne - First of all congrats on your marriage, Buffelsdrift Game Lodge wish you many more years together filled with love. Thank you for sharing your stunning experience with us, we hope to see you soon. Next time try our elephant ride - know you will love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was my second visit here. Simply love this place. A great place to stay while visiting the Oudtshoorn area and Cango caves. Not to forget the wonderful game drive in this private reserve. Food was good and staff very friendly. A wonderful taste of the outdoors with all the luxury of a city hotel. Would highly recommand this place.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking in the dark at night, take a room close to the reception and the dinni...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMahanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Glad to hear it's your second visit and we hope to see you again. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the fact that you enjoy our lovely surroundings and activities at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Amazing, it took our breathe away it was everything it promised to be, scenery surreal - tent accommodation just perfect, spotless. The staff all curteous, efficient and friendly.The food a gastronomic delight. To see the animals up close was one delightful experience we will never forget. One improvement could be less noisy air conditioners.We hope to come again with guests next time

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffelsdrift, Manager at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Yva and Larry, we appreciate your review and are glad that you loved our unique experience at our lodge. We have addressed the air conditioners, thank you for informing us. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
4.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
907 reviews
15.7 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#9 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
295 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffelsdrift Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffelsdrift Game Lodge

Address: Cango Caves Road | P.O.Box 268, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $123 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buffelsdrift Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is a sprawling game farm situated in the foothills of the Swartberg Mountains in the Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn. Only 5 hours drive from Cape Town and less than an hour's drive from George Airport. This game farm is located 6.5 Km outside of Oudtshoorn, en-route to the Cango Caves. Pristine bushveld, lush vegetation and a 5 hectare dam provide a haven for twenty-two game species and more than 217 bird species. In May 2004 this beautiful Nature Reserve became part of the 6th South African World Heritage Sites offering a wealth of endemic plant species. It is our aim to bring the highest quality of service to our guests and to this end we try to anticipate their every need.Buffelsdrift Game Lodge offers 9 waterfront, 16 luxury and 4 family tents each one with en-suite bathroom and private outdoor shower, air-conditioning, mini-bar, digital safe, tea / coffee making facilities and a game viewing deck. We can accommodate a total of 66 guests in our 29 tents either with twin or king size beds. A lookout lounge is situated next to the reception with a large round stone fireplace in the middle, overlooking our dam with the Swartberg Mountain Range in the distance. A charming wedding chapel is situated on the edge of a natural water hole with a wide wooden deck as entrance. The deck is an extension to the A la carte restaurant which creates a beautiful space for wedding guests to take their seats and witness the couple exchanging their wedding vows. Conferencing at Buffelsdrift Game Lodge is quite unique. Our fully equipped conference hall is situated right next to the dam, and also extends onto the deck connecting to the restaurant. Activities offered are Bush Safaris (game drive), Meerkat Safaris, Elephant Excursions and Star Gazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffelsdrift Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffelsdrift Game Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing