We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the best in hotel in the Little Karoo?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Thorntree Country House
Ranked #32 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2008

We spent a month in South Africa and chose The Thorntree after checking out their web site and reading travellers' reviews. Our stay "co-incided" with my wife's "big birthday". In order to help her celebrate in style Louis - the owner - arranged flowers for the room and rose petals on the breakfast table; he unselfishly recommended a brilliant restaurant for the evening - even though his own takes some beating; he patiently explained how to get from A to B to an Englishman (me) who, without satnav, couldn't find his own way around. All the staff were friendly and efficient, the food perfect and the rooms spotless.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2008

We only stayed at the Thorntree for one night as part of our Garden Route holiday, but wish we had stayed longer. We were made to feel very comfortable and at home from the moment we arrived. We actually arrived early for check in but it was not a problem. Having had no lunch sandwiches and a cold glass of white wine went down a treat around the pool. We stayed for dinner, even though we didn't have a choice it was excellent and Louis the owner was a star shareing a bottle of wine with us at no cost to us. Our rooms were beautiful with a super bathroom attached and having air con made such a difference as it was 30 plus. Louis also allowed me use of his computer to catch up with emails from home. The Thorntree is also very handy for a trip to the Cango Caves or Swartberg Pass.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Denise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We loved the Thorntree. Louis was a charming host, and we enjoyed chatting with him. We found the room and main buildings decorated in a wonderful style. The table settings were as well. Our cottage had 2 bedrooms which was good, as we were traveling with our 10 year old twins.

We were even surprised as our car was washed before we left!

The lodge is not far from the caves, Ostrich farm, Buffelsdrift, and Cango wildlife ranch.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank havesuitcase153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at The Thorntree. Louis was a fab host and could offer great advice on where to go and most importantly great places to eat. All in all a wonderful stop on any tour of the garden route!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheBarnsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We only stayed one night as part of a Garden Route drive, but it was a great place to stop in the area. Louis is a very friendly (and chatty!) host. The room and bathroom were tastefully decorated and air con was essential when we were there (40C plus!). No choice of menus, but not a problem as both the evening meal and breakfast were great quality and well presented. The Cango ostrich farm nearby is more interesting than you may expect. Overall the Thorntree is great value and we could happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

This was a one night stop for us on our trip from PE back to Cape Town and of all the excellent hotels we stayed in this was by far the best value for money. The hotel is very pretty and set back from the road (nearly drove straight past). There are 4 individual 'houses' each with 3 rooms which had all the mod cons including air con (which was a neccessity when we stayed). There is a nice swimming pool surrounded by cultivated lawns and flowerbeds. The staff greeted us in a warm and friendly way and, as we had had quite a long drive were quick to rustle up some sandwiches and cold beer & wine for lunch. Louis is a young, charming host and we observed that he spent time with each guest making them feel welcome. The evening meal was excellent even though there was no menu to choose from. In the morning we found that the staff had washed our hire car - a great touch.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Louis is the perfect host and made sure that we got the best from our time in Oudtshoorn. He arranged a trip with the "Meerkat Man" to the Meerkats burrow. A highlight of our trip to Western Cape.

We ate in on all 3 nights and enjoyed each of the set menus, all beautifully presented.

Our room was large and tastefully furnished with full bath, shower and double modern wash basins.

Service wirh a smle and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Poort Country Lodge
De Poort Country Lodge
#16 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#21 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Opstal
De Opstal
#20 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
340 reviews
2.9 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thorntree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorntree Country House

Address: Cango Caves Road | R328, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $119 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thorntree Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorntree Country House is a luxury 4 star establishment offering exclusivity in natural peaceful surroundings. Situated on route to the Cango Caves, Cango Ostrich Show Farm and Swartberg Pass, this is the ideal base from which to explore the Little Karoo or just to enjoy life. Owner run and managed, ensuring quality service and personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Thorntree Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing