We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Plume
Nearby Hotels
$112
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Sun Guesthouse(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$77
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilgewandel Holiday Farm(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$56
$49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$202
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
340
122
33
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
122
33
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakostrich farmfarm tourguest houseattention to detailone nightantique furniturebeautiful dining roomcomplimentary portcolonial stylewelcome drinkroll top baththe main housegarden routelong drivea fantastic place to stayseparate shower
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 509 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent two nights here and our room which was attached to the main house was large. We were given a complimentary drink on our arrival which was a nice touch. We had a tour round by the owner in the morning which was well worth the extra cost and discovered there was a lot to learn about ostrich farming. We had one meal in and the second night went into Oudtshoorn which had quite a few restaurants to choose from. Certainly a recommended stop if you are touring this part of the country.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan499616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A beautiful setting; colonial elegance on a working ostrich farm.The grounds were well-maintained and inviting, especially the pool. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Our room was clean and extremely comfortable with a large well-appointed bathroom, bedroom and separate lounge area. Outdoor seating area was small and not especially private but adequate for our needs. Once again, as with other guesthouses, complimentary port was on offer - perfect 'sundowner'. Be aware that if you want a tour of the ostrich farm itself this comes at an extra cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve and Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fell in love with this guest house and wished we had being staying longer. The accommodation was superb as was the restaurant and communal areas. Food good and excellent staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Felt totally comfortable there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geri53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We did wonder what awaited us, as it is a little off the beaten track, but from the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly, shown our apartment and given a complimentary drink by the vivacious Corlou, we enjoyed the warmth and elegance of La Plume. It was almost like going back in time. We had driven quite a distance and had booked 2 nights, planning to explore. However we limited the exploring and simply enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The food was excellent. Would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great position on the Garden Route journey. Quiet with beautiful views. After travelling five hours from CT we eat in the Hotel. The meal was OK but it would have been better to drive into the local town (as we discovered the following evening). Rooms are very interesting, comfortable and have everything that the traveler needs. It looked to us to be the best accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews