We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thylitshia villa Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langebaanweg, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Thylitshia villa Heaven”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was really a awesome and valuable experience that we had as a young couple and the host and his family made us feel like we were regular visitors. In reviews everyone just write anything to get it over and done with but with this place it is really something that one has to experience on your own. I would recommend this place first hand to any stranger, friend or family member and will definitely return to it soon!!!! ps: ostrich steak there is a must have!!!!

Room Tip: 1st and 2nd rooms were great especially 2nd room bathroom for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beijing167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    48
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
67
134
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Guest House was taken over in March 2012 by new owners and the place sparkles inside and out. The hosts could not have gone out of their way more, bringing a beer or two to our rooms' outside table, the hosts do all the work themselves and the wife prepares the meals, bakes the bread, outstanding meals. The gardens are so pretty and the lambs out the back way precious. I would recommend this accommodation without pause.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliasauter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ELIZABETH
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We cannot recommend Thylitshia Villla Country Guesthous highly enoughl. A wonderful warm welcome, nothing was too much trouble, First class delicious food - cooked by Elriza and served by Lollie in very stylish dining room with chandelairs. Chalets well equipped. Unexpected extras were a welcome drink served in their lounge with blazing fire on arrival and, on leaving, a lovely cleanly washed car. We will not hesitate to recommend them and hope to stay again. Jill and Richard Tomlinson Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JILL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orléans, Centre, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

A nice step in our trip in Z.A.
Great welcome with the owner, who really hope and really does his best to satisfy the tourist.
high level of decoration and a real global thinking about the atmosphere , many little details make the difference.
we recommand this guesthouse!!!!
Dont forget the cooking, mostly the ostrich's steack.... sophie et pascal, FRANCE.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have just spent a most enjoyable night at this B&B. We took advantage of their 'winter special' of R690 for two for dinner, bed and breakfast. We were given the Honeymoon Suite which was extremely well appointed and spacious. The dinner and breakfast were first class - the best ostrich steaks we have ever eaten. Can definitely recommend Thylitshia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalind h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thylitshia is such a lovely, cosy getaway that went way beyond our expectations. We were looking for a quiet, restful weekend away from our daily routines, and we got all that and more from our lovely, jovial hosts, Lollies and his wife Elriza. What a charming couple! The accomodation was superb for the winter chill with electric blankets and heaters in our rooms. The decor in each room and the reception/lounge area was stunning. Our 5 course dinner was truly sumptious after a long day of visiting the local attractions in Oudtshoorn. Our hosts were so friendly and the choice of wine received from our host was superb with our meal. Thank you again to the staff and hosts of this beautiful establishment for making our weekend getaway truly a fantastic "country" experience. :-) Clarisa Vandayar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvandayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I booked this B&B on the internet from the UK with the promise of a warm welcome, good food and South African charm. That promise was kept and the hosts did not disappoint at all! The B&B is just outside of Oudtshoorn on a beautiful, peaceful road with ostriches opposite. The rooms were spacious, homely and warm with electric blankets to help send us off to sleep later. We chose to have dinner - such a wise choice as we were served the most delicious ostrich steak after our visit to the cango caves! Lollie and Elriza could not do enough for us, so hospitable and kind. It was one of our friend's birthdays the day we arrived and she was treated to a surprise drink, candles, banner etc at dinner which was truly special and memorable. Breakfast was superb with home made croissants! We would all highly recommend this B&B and we will definitely stay again if we journey along Route 62 or are visiting the Oudtshoorn area!

Room Tip: The rooms are in the garden and the 2 we had were both superb, even in the winter. Lovely extra lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckybear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
335 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
153 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Denne Country Guest House
De Denne Country Guest House
#13 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
215 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse

Property: Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Address: | 20km from Oudtshoorn - direction Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thylitshia Villa is a beautiful newly renovated Vintage Geusthouse in the countryside of Oudtshoorn. This cosy 4 star guesthouse is a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the captivating Olifants River Valley. It is perfectly situated for exploring Oudtshoorn, the ostrich capital of the world. Set in a peaceful garden abundant with bird life and a panoramic view if the Swartberg Mountains.Creating an an abience of French Vintage charm and warmth, 8 en-suite bedrooms are luxuriously and elegantly decorated,while thoughtful touches and attention to detail ensures a special romantic stay.All rooms have a private entrance onto their own private patio with breathtaking views of the beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and the valley.Relax with the sound of chirping birds and shimmering fountain.Pampered luxury, dedication to personal service and elegant hospitality-all this is Thylitshia Villa Guesthouse.We extend to you an invitation to a country escape which will create memories that will take a lifetime to fade..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing