We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic country getaway!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thylitshia is such a lovely, cosy getaway that went way beyond our expectations. We were looking for a quiet, restful weekend away from our daily routines, and we got all that and more from our lovely, jovial hosts, Lollies and his wife Elriza. What a charming couple! The accomodation was superb for the winter chill with electric blankets and heaters in our rooms. The decor in each room and the reception/lounge area was stunning. Our 5 course dinner was truly sumptious after a long day of visiting the local attractions in Oudtshoorn. Our hosts were so friendly and the choice of wine received from our host was superb with our meal. Thank you again to the staff and hosts of this beautiful establishment for making our weekend getaway truly a fantastic "country" experience. :-) Clarisa Vandayar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvandayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    48
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
133
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I booked this B&B on the internet from the UK with the promise of a warm welcome, good food and South African charm. That promise was kept and the hosts did not disappoint at all! The B&B is just outside of Oudtshoorn on a beautiful, peaceful road with ostriches opposite. The rooms were spacious, homely and warm with electric blankets to help send us off to sleep later. We chose to have dinner - such a wise choice as we were served the most delicious ostrich steak after our visit to the cango caves! Lollie and Elriza could not do enough for us, so hospitable and kind. It was one of our friend's birthdays the day we arrived and she was treated to a surprise drink, candles, banner etc at dinner which was truly special and memorable. Breakfast was superb with home made croissants! We would all highly recommend this B&B and we will definitely stay again if we journey along Route 62 or are visiting the Oudtshoorn area!

Room Tip: The rooms are in the garden and the 2 we had were both superb, even in the winter. Lovely extra lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckybear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night of our honeymoon whilst touring the Garden Route in June 2012 - we've never been so well looked after and made to, literally, feel at home. We enjoyed a five course meal, which was top class, and were invited to join our host for an after dinner port in front of their fireplace. Breakfast was delicious and we went on our way feeling well rested after a good nights sleep in a very comfortable room - I will definitely go back if not for anything but honest and good hospitality. We even left with a delicious bottle of Boplaas champagne, compliments of the owners, in honour of our marriage.
Thank you Lollies and Elriza for a wonderful and friendly stay :)

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

During a recent business trip to the beautiful Klein Karoo, a friend recommended that Thylitshia Villa Country Guest House will definately feel like home! I was not disappointed!
The rooms are comfortable, spacious and tastefully furnished. With an electric blanket on the bed and TV in the room there were no need or excuse not to relax and rest.
Elriza's food was well prepared and delicious, especially the ostrich steak! (No need for take aways from town to eat late at night in your room!)
Gerrit (Lollie) made me feel very comfortable and it was as if we know each other for years.
The garden is well look after and they do pay attention to every detail to make an oasis with views of the majestic Swartberg mountains to complete the picture.
I do recommend this guesthouse to every tourist for you will be treated as a VIP!
Thank you Lollie & Elriza for a much pleasant stay! Hope to see you soon again.
Danie Nel (Nelspruit)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently required a halfway stop between East London and Cape Town off the beaten track. Fortuitously we stumbled upon this great B&B on the internet.

On arrival we were made to feel welcome immediately. We enjoyed a walk in the picturesque surroundings before a sumptuous dinner, which was preceded by a very welcome glass of Sherry.
Accommodation was comfortable and warm, and the water was hot! (A winter necessity)
A hearty breakfast set us on our way the following morning.

Overall, we had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the hospitality from the new owners.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We went away for two nights on the spur of the moment and we could not have been better looked after. The accomodation was excellent and the food was delicious. We felt very relaxed from the moment we arrived. It was rather chilly and there was a heater in our room and the owners could not do enough for us. We thoroughly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed for a relaxing weekend in April with my two daughters. Could not believe the changes the new owners managed in such a short time! The villa had a warm and welcome feel and I felt right at home when I walked in. Everybody was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had wonderful dinners and sumptuous breakfast. The view from the restaurant and the patio is spectacular! Rooms adequate space, clean and comfortable. Although ostriches still absent did not detract from the beauty of the guesthouse. Oudsthoorn just 12kms away and plenty to do and see if you get bored from relaxing on the patio or next to the pool. Will certainly reccomend to anyone needing some fresh air and good food!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank André B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
8.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
7.8 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
11.5 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse

Property: Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse
Address: | 20km from Oudtshoorn - direction Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thylitshia Villa is a beautiful newly renovated Vintage Geusthouse in the countryside of Oudtshoorn. This cosy 4 star guesthouse is a haven of peace and tranquillity, set in the captivating Olifants River Valley. It is perfectly situated for exploring Oudtshoorn, the ostrich capital of the world. Set in a peaceful garden abundant with bird life and a panoramic view if the Swartberg Mountains.Creating an an abience of French Vintage charm and warmth, 8 en-suite bedrooms are luxuriously and elegantly decorated,while thoughtful touches and attention to detail ensures a special romantic stay.All rooms have a private entrance onto their own private patio with breathtaking views of the beautiful gardens, swimmingpool and the valley.Relax with the sound of chirping birds and shimmering fountain.Pampered luxury, dedication to personal service and elegant hospitality-all this is Thylitshia Villa Guesthouse.We extend to you an invitation to a country escape which will create memories that will take a lifetime to fade..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing