We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveler rating
110
163
94
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
163
94
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolony restaurantcolonial hotelold world charmbygone erafirst floorpublic roomsbreakfast roombreakfast stafflovely hoteltour grouppleasant staynight staycentre of townstayed here for nightscomfortable bedsenjoyed our stayostrich steak
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 390 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for one night only as part of a tour of South Africa. I'm glad we weren't staying longer as the marble floors were lethal and after a knee replacement I was very nervous.

There was also only one lift and one porter delivering cases so the lift was out of action for over an hour and I had to risk the stairs. There are sudden steps which don't actually show so great care is needed for anyone slightly dithery on their legs!

The room was average, rather dark and somewhat cramped. The Queen Mother certainly didn't have our room with its cracked toilet seat!
Air conditioning was rather unreliable but we didn't open the window as we faced onto the main street.

Towels were white and nice, toiletries were supplied and the shower was good.

The pool was ok but could have done with a good clean. The water was rather murky and there were a lot of leaves. As the temperature hit 50 degrees centigrade no-one cared and we just cooled off in it.

There was no internet access

The buffet meal looked ghastly and those who had it said it was awful especially for R180 per person. Luckily we had read Trip Advisor and so we went to Headlines just a few doors away - and we found our Tour Guide in there which says it all really!

Had an excellent steak dinner for 2 with wine which cost R220 so that was far better value.

It wasn't a bad place to stay but Oudtshoorn isn't the most interesting of towns and tours only stop here for the ostrich farms and Kango Caves.
It certainly is not the most memorable hotel in South Africa!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

if there is one hotel to visit outside Cape Town this hotel certainly deserves your attention.
In the middle of the Karoo, South Africa's dry semi-desert lies the small town of Oudtshoorn. The Queens Hotel is an old colonial building that is well maintained and has always been a hotel and restaurant. It was also honored by the visit of HM Queen Elisabeth in 1947, hence the name.
Old colonial style that is yet not dated sets the tone of this charming hotel. Beautiful staircase, marble floors, good sized rooms filled with antiques and thank god, good beds. Bathroom is simple but clean. Minor problem for our stay was the noisy air-conditioning, this was actually the motor of the machine placed outside our room so that noise was not to be controlled. Earplugs helped.

The breakfast buffet is English orientated with all the classic dishes one can expect and the coffee is strong and very good. There's a lovely terrace outside to spend the first moments of the day in a calm inner garden, with a tinkling fountain. There is even a small swimming pool in the back of the garden.

On the first floor there is a well-stocked bar and restaurant with the local Karoo specialties like ostrich, springbok and some local wines. Great food and very professional service.
We can recommend this hotel to the most discerning visitor as well as to the one-stop traveler on a budget. Ask for the special rates at check-in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked for 2 nights through Flight Centre, UK about 6 weeks prior to visit. Modernised and extended old coaching inn at the centre of Oudtshoorn, with 70+ rooms on three floors. Historic photos on the walls depicting royal visit, etc. Our rear-facing room was well appointed with usual amenities, including kettle, tea/coffee and air-conditioner. The latter was not used since the windows opened. Well supplied with electrical outlets. These were very useful to recharge camera batteries and to plug in mosquito repellants Car parking at the rear of the hotel next to the garden entrance. In-house restaurant above Reception - seemed a little pricey for us compared to other local offerings. Didn't actually see anybody using it either! Breakfast room adjacent to Reception with additional outdoor tables in the garden. Extensive buffet with hot and cold items. Additional hot items cooked to order. Convenient located next to museum, tourist office, shops, restaurant and supermarket.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Room 214

Stayed here for one night only (thankfully) as part of a tour.

This is an older type hotel, apparently named for Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother who stayed here once with our present Queen and Princess Margaret, I bet they didn't stay in Room 214. The public rooms had a certain old world charm.

Room 214 was very small about 12 ft x 14ft decorated in beige, walls, furnishings, carpets etc. The only bit of colour was the bathroom door which was blue. One sepia coloured print on the wall of bedroom. A most depressing room.

The wall mounted televison is directly above a fixed luggage stand and is extremely dangerous. I can imagine there have been many heads bumped over the years....

The bathroom was the smallest I have ever come across....to use the toilet which was tucked in a corner your knees touched the wall in front of you, I am only five feet four, my husband five feet ten, anyone any taller would have had even greater problems.

There was only one tiny storage shelf and that was over the washbasin above head height. There was absolutely nowhere to place any toiletries.

It was the most hideous bathroom I have ever had the misfortune to use.

This particular bedroom looked out over a flat roof, car park and the local hardware store back entrance.

We were so disappointed with this room (next day we found out from other members of our tour group that their bathrooms were kingsize), that we decided not to dinner here. we went to a restaurant called Headlines a couple of doors along the street and this proved to be very good. The food was excellent and very reasonable and the service was cheerful and professional.

Breakfast at the hotel the following morning was good once they were organized, it appears the tour group caught the staff on the hop. However the breakfast dining room was very pleasant (not the same restaurant as dinner), with an outside area and overlooking pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Sadly only stayed here one night as part of a coach tour of South Africa. Absolutely loved this hotel, it has an old world colonial charm. The room, although compact was decorated tastefully, as was the whole hotel. Breakfast was delicious, with a good choice (the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was my favourite). Staff were very friendly. Didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked very good. (We ate at Headlines just down the road where we tried the ostrich fillet which was very good).
The public areas of the hotel were wonderful places to sit and relax, and the pool area looked nice but it wasn't really warm enough to swim.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews