We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lethal Floors!”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Lethal Floors!”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for one night only as part of a tour of South Africa. I'm glad we weren't staying longer as the marble floors were lethal and after a knee replacement I was very nervous.

There was also only one lift and one porter delivering cases so the lift was out of action for over an hour and I had to risk the stairs. There are sudden steps which don't actually show so great care is needed for anyone slightly dithery on their legs!

The room was average, rather dark and somewhat cramped. The Queen Mother certainly didn't have our room with its cracked toilet seat!
Air conditioning was rather unreliable but we didn't open the window as we faced onto the main street.

Towels were white and nice, toiletries were supplied and the shower was good.

The pool was ok but could have done with a good clean. The water was rather murky and there were a lot of leaves. As the temperature hit 50 degrees centigrade no-one cared and we just cooled off in it.

There was no internet access

The buffet meal looked ghastly and those who had it said it was awful especially for R180 per person. Luckily we had read Trip Advisor and so we went to Headlines just a few doors away - and we found our Tour Guide in there which says it all really!

Had an excellent steak dinner for 2 with wine which cost R220 so that was far better value.

It wasn't a bad place to stay but Oudtshoorn isn't the most interesting of towns and tours only stop here for the ostrich farms and Kango Caves.
It certainly is not the most memorable hotel in South Africa!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    132
    81
    15
    8
See reviews for
63
158
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

if there is one hotel to visit outside Cape Town this hotel certainly deserves your attention.
In the middle of the Karoo, South Africa's dry semi-desert lies the small town of Oudtshoorn. The Queens Hotel is an old colonial building that is well maintained and has always been a hotel and restaurant. It was also honored by the visit of HM Queen Elisabeth in 1947, hence the name.
Old colonial style that is yet not dated sets the tone of this charming hotel. Beautiful staircase, marble floors, good sized rooms filled with antiques and thank god, good beds. Bathroom is simple but clean. Minor problem for our stay was the noisy air-conditioning, this was actually the motor of the machine placed outside our room so that noise was not to be controlled. Earplugs helped.

The breakfast buffet is English orientated with all the classic dishes one can expect and the coffee is strong and very good. There's a lovely terrace outside to spend the first moments of the day in a calm inner garden, with a tinkling fountain. There is even a small swimming pool in the back of the garden.

On the first floor there is a well-stocked bar and restaurant with the local Karoo specialties like ostrich, springbok and some local wines. Great food and very professional service.
We can recommend this hotel to the most discerning visitor as well as to the one-stop traveler on a budget. Ask for the special rates at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked for 2 nights through Flight Centre, UK about 6 weeks prior to visit. Modernised and extended old coaching inn at the centre of Oudtshoorn, with 70+ rooms on three floors. Historic photos on the walls depicting royal visit, etc. Our rear-facing room was well appointed with usual amenities, including kettle, tea/coffee and air-conditioner. The latter was not used since the windows opened. Well supplied with electrical outlets. These were very useful to recharge camera batteries and to plug in mosquito repellants Car parking at the rear of the hotel next to the garden entrance. In-house restaurant above Reception - seemed a little pricey for us compared to other local offerings. Didn't actually see anybody using it either! Breakfast room adjacent to Reception with additional outdoor tables in the garden. Extensive buffet with hot and cold items. Additional hot items cooked to order. Convenient located next to museum, tourist office, shops, restaurant and supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Room 214

Stayed here for one night only (thankfully) as part of a tour.

This is an older type hotel, apparently named for Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother who stayed here once with our present Queen and Princess Margaret, I bet they didn't stay in Room 214. The public rooms had a certain old world charm.

Room 214 was very small about 12 ft x 14ft decorated in beige, walls, furnishings, carpets etc. The only bit of colour was the bathroom door which was blue. One sepia coloured print on the wall of bedroom. A most depressing room.

The wall mounted televison is directly above a fixed luggage stand and is extremely dangerous. I can imagine there have been many heads bumped over the years....

The bathroom was the smallest I have ever come across....to use the toilet which was tucked in a corner your knees touched the wall in front of you, I am only five feet four, my husband five feet ten, anyone any taller would have had even greater problems.

There was only one tiny storage shelf and that was over the washbasin above head height. There was absolutely nowhere to place any toiletries.

It was the most hideous bathroom I have ever had the misfortune to use.

This particular bedroom looked out over a flat roof, car park and the local hardware store back entrance.

We were so disappointed with this room (next day we found out from other members of our tour group that their bathrooms were kingsize), that we decided not to dinner here. we went to a restaurant called Headlines a couple of doors along the street and this proved to be very good. The food was excellent and very reasonable and the service was cheerful and professional.

Breakfast at the hotel the following morning was good once they were organized, it appears the tour group caught the staff on the hop. However the breakfast dining room was very pleasant (not the same restaurant as dinner), with an outside area and overlooking pleasant gardens.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
600 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Sadly only stayed here one night as part of a coach tour of South Africa. Absolutely loved this hotel, it has an old world colonial charm. The room, although compact was decorated tastefully, as was the whole hotel. Breakfast was delicious, with a good choice (the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was my favourite). Staff were very friendly. Didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked very good. (We ate at Headlines just down the road where we tried the ostrich fillet which was very good).
The public areas of the hotel were wonderful places to sit and relax, and the pool area looked nice but it wasn't really warm enough to swim.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We spent two nights at the Queen's hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town, adjacent to the CP Nel Museum (which is worth visiting). The highlights of the hotel are its excellent meals. The breakfasts, which are served in the ground-level breakfast room featured custom-cooked eggs, and a good selection of other hot and cold items. The hotel's upstairs restaurant and bar were excellent. We usually avoid hotel restaurants, but had two very good dinners at the Queens Hotel's restaurant. We especially enjoyed the ostrich steaks. Another thing that we liked about the hotel was its large and comfortable library/lounge area, where we spent and hour or two relaxing each day.

The rooms are decent size, with televisions and telephones, but are not the reason you stay at the Queens. If you want a modern room with a flat-screen TV, then this is not your hotel. However, we found the rooms to be comfortable and sufficient for our needs. The bathrooms are fairly basic, but had what we needed (tub, shower, hot water, good water pressure, etc.)

The staff was very friendly and courteous and we enjoyed our interactions with them. We got a couple of good sightseeing tips from the folks at the front desk.

We recommend the Queens Hotel if you like historic buildings and want a friendly and comfortable place to relax after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLisaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Cape
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We arrived at the Queens Hotel to be greated by the friendliest staff. The Reservations manager personally came out to introduce herself and the receptionist could wait to give us our arrival beverages. Just such a warm and friendly welcome. That's the start to a lovely stay and a good impression of what the rest of the staff and the establishment is all about.

I thought the rooms where very nice, comfortable, and a warm welcoming feel to it. At the end of the day, you spend most of your time out exploring Oudtshoorn and its surroundings, so for a place to sleep and eat, the value for money is definately worth it

Thank you to all the staff and management of the Queens Hotel for the fantastic service and hospitality

We will return hopefully soon

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
16.0 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing