We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
122
170
96
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
170
96
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial hotel old world charm first floor breakfast room lovely hotel tour group reception staff pleasant stay stayed here for nights night stay ostrich steak breakfast was excellent comfortable rooms cape town cango caves ostrich farm colony
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 412 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2017

We stayed there for three nights with our son, on-route for my daughter's netball tour . It is and old but clean hotel. The buffet breakfast was nice and the staff friendly. It is more or less in the middle of town and walking distance from restaurants and shops. Can recommend it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well equipped
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiselategan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Thank you for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

The Hotel in centrally situated in the town of Oudtshoorn with a shopping mall and restaurants within walking distance. Excellent staff and safe parking makes the stay very pleasant. Stayed on the first floor in a corner room which was quiet. Spacious shower and heated floor in the bathroom area was a bonus.
Some sort of interference on the TV channels can be disrupting at times.
The breakfast was really tasty but I feel that dinner was somewhat disappointing. I had the seafood bisque; not very tasty, dis not life up to the expectation for a meal of R150+

Room Tip: First floor, furthest corner
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank veraolgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

I am sorry to hear from your bad experience in the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

i loved the Queens hotel, it is not completely old world charm but it is not modernized either, large reception, big stairs, a breakfast room- like in the old days but not old. long passages leading you to lots of rooms, the bathrooms are updated with everything you need from big white fluffy towels to all the necessary bath and shower jells, the rooms are updated but still has the old style. breakfast is a variety from a buffet, we did not have dinner and there is also a coffee/cake shop on the "stoep" of the hotel

Room Tip: difficult to say as noise depends on the town and fellow guests
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvettealbertse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Although the hotel is an old hotel, we are constantly upgrading for the comfort of our guests without changing the character of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

Lovely hotel near all amenities. Good food and great service. Will recommend this hotel. Friendly staff. Large breakfast. Have good dinning facilities and menu that caters for all. Bathrooms are beautiful and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 389altheaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017

Although I did not stay at this picturesque hotel during the festival - the vibe around it was amazing. the entire place changed into a feast of markets and stalls. too much art. a highlight was Evita Peron's performance on the balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SarieV21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

I agree, the hotel is in the centre of a lot of activies during the KKNK. Café Brulé on the stoep of the hotel is very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews