We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm.”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Arrived after a long trip from Cape Town and first impression was one of faded elegance.
The entrance was large and bright with an impressive staircase.
The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful.
The bedrooms were simply furnished but had everything we needed.
We ate in the hotel and the food was excellent - all of us receiving very large portions. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The lounge was very comfortable to sit in after our meal.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of cereal, fruit, bread and delicious omelettes.
The only criticism of the hotel was the pool area which was in need of some attention.
Otherwise, if you have to visit Oudtshoorn we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkshaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel was taken over from 1 February 2014 by a local group of business people of whom I am one. We have since then immediately started with the upgrading and refurbishment of the hotel . The swimming pool area is scheduled for upgrading in June 2014 and by the next summer the swimming poll area will be much more pleasant.

Regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 374 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel is situated next to the KKNK festival's main activities, which was great because we could walk to almost all shows. We'll visit again!

Directions to the parking area however needs improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hendrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hendrik,

Thank you for your response. As you probably have noticed , we were busy with the repainting of the exterior of the hotel. Once this is finished new directional signs to the parking at the back of the hotel will be erected. During the annual KKNK festival, the road to the hotel is closed and special arrangement were made to give guests alternative directions to the parking area. Emails were sent out to all the guests. I apologize if the message did not reach you prior to your arrival.

Regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before, and we will stay there again - we so enjoy its homely and personalised touches. We were again made to feel at home by warm and friendly staff and stayed in a wonderful room overlooking the garden courtyard. Oudtshoorn is a long car-trip away for us, and the Queens Hotel provides just the tonic to remedy the stress of travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Basil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Basil,

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I wonder if they have always served such bad food?
Tiger prawn tempura was a thick doughy mix that was simply undeniable. The poor tiger prawn inside the mix was cooked to a mulch.
We requested the rack of lamb to be for rare to med and pink, but arrived overcooked and tasteless. You did, in fact, need the meat knife supplied to cut into it.
All horrible except for the Stellenbosch wine at R210.
The waitress asked if everything was okay as all the food was left on the plate, so I explained and all she said was that she would inform the chef.

Just go for a drink to see the interior of this lovely old building.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruthven65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, General Manager at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

It is a pity that you did not complained about the quality of the food as soon as you found it unacceptable. The chef would have talked to you and if necessary, replaced whatever it was that you did not liked. This is after all protocol. I found this comment about the food very strange, as we always get good feedback. Just read the review of 23 February 2014 of a very satisfied guest.

regards,

Alie Killian
Director & General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Queen's hotel is a little bit outdated but in a kind of nice way. They have a fairly formal Lounge on the first floor (second floor, for us Americans) furnished with cushy sofas and chairs. They will be happy to serve you tea in the afternoon... but charged us for it, even though our information about the hotel said "Teas and coffees included." We ate dinner in their restaurant, which was nice but breakfast in the courtyard the next morning was truly lovely! The staff who served our dinner and breakfast were great but the staff at the front desk didn't seem like they were interested (texting/ talking on the phone while I waited).

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel because it is on THE main street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaBragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henco20, Marketing at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the meals and service - we have addressed the issue you raised and be sure that will not happen again. Hopefully we will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights here as part of a Saga tour. The rooms and bathrooms are small but perfectly functional and the beds comfortable. Our room was on the side and we could see the road, however we were not bothered by traffic noise even though we had the windows open at night. The hotel has an old world charm and is keen to promote the visit of the UK royal family in 1947. There is a lovely lounge with stuffed chintzy sofas adjacent to the 1st floor dining room. Breakfast is taken in the downstairs restaurant which opens onto the small courtyard. Food is very good with plenty of choice. The pool is in an area of rather unkempt garden at the back of the hotel with only 6 loungers and no parasols. WiFi in the hotel is hopeless not only for those using ipads but also on the main computer in the lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennywrenSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alie K, Owner at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

I am the new General Manager of this splendid Colonial Masterpiece. We are currently busy with the upgrading of the Hotel and have introduced various measurement to ensure minimal discomfort to our hotel guests. The complete hotel has been repainted on the outside. The pool area is up for upgrading this coming winter, (June - August) The new internet connection with uncapped access have been introduced on 3 March 2014 . I trust that the new arrangement is a huge improvement.

Regards,
Alie Killian
Director and Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This Hotel dates back to the late 1800's but still offers up to date facilities and service. The bedrooms are a little dated, but clean and functional and mine looked out over the courtyard garden, which was very pleasant. My bedroom had a gas mask in a glass case positioned in the very large wardrobe! Hopefully a leave over from a bygone age! (I didn't need to use it by the way!). However, there was a problem with my airconditioning which resulted in the clothing I had left lying beneath the unit getting extremely wet, due to the leaking water. The staff, however, did take away my 6 items of clothing and within an hour I had them back dried and pressed. But beware of this, as I believe there was a problem in other rooms at the same time with the airconditioning malfunctioning. However, all in all, a lovely place to stay although the swimming pool area could do with a little TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the garden, as some overlook a tin roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henco20, Marketing at Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Thank you for the kind review - we have had challenges with our air conditioners but most have subsequently been replaced. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
16 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $75 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing