We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building but rooms dark and poorly equipt”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely building but rooms dark and poorly equipt”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I agree with previous reviewers, it is a lovely old building but it has several shortcomings. The bed rooms are small and very dark, without a fridge or mini-bar. There is a stupid lack of lighting in the room, you practically needed a torch to read. The bath/shower is very dangerous because there is a fixed glass shower screen which means you cannot reach to turn the taps off easily for the bath or the shower. If you get in the shower it is very hot and extremely powerful and it is a big step to get into and out of the bath. Anyone not sure of their footing should avoid.. un case of scalding or slipping.

We stayed 2 nights on a tour of the Garden Route and it was in a convenient location and the restaurant food was extremely good. Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel or else there is traffic noise from the main road. Sadly it is correct there is a generator out at the back as well!

The pool was dirty and very cold, which was a shame as I would have liked a dip. Staff were fine but not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    134
    81
    15
    8
See reviews for
64
158
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on garden route trip. On main road in Oudtshoorm the town itself has nothing to offer & was ok as a stop over on route & is convenient to visit local attractions such as wildlife ranch & cango caves other than that not much else to see. The hotel restaurant was very nice we ate here both evenings the service was good & the food excellent at very reasonable prices although as a previous review states the menu doesn't change but it seems most guests are only stopping over on tours so arnt there more than a couple of nights. The breakfasts were disappointing not a lot of choice & they had run out of several things by 9am there weren't many staff & we had to ask several times for coffee. The room we stayed in on the second floor was small dark & dated as a previous review says I felt like we were in the naughty corner! As well as this there is some kind of generator noise which kept us awake most of the night. On the plus side the over the bath shower was very powerful so much so it could soak the floor if not aimed at the wall! Of all the hotels we stayed in during our cape trip this was the worst due to the poor rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2nights in the hotel. Easy parking at the rear, very impressive facade, immaculate fountain gardens and a consistent 1950s vibe throughout the hotel.

Rooms are drab, little choice on the tv and a lack of hangers in the cupboard. Absolutely stunningly powerful shower in the bathroom, best we encountered in South Africa! Great breakfast choice although on day 2 there were no prepared tables available for us after a herd of visitors had enjoyed their food earlier on.

Highly entertaining Bar Steward who seemed to enjoyed a game of dare - 'Who would ask whom first for a drinks order'!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a fantastic old building and both restaurants and bar are a pleasure to sit in as the decor is very trditional as is the enrtance and reception area. The rooms are nice enough and clean. Our experience in the restaurant was ok, the staff were great but the menu does not change each day and the chips tasted like frozen oven chips. Apart from that though they serve very good wine at a reasonable price.
Breakfast is good and the bread is all baked on site.
The check in staff was not particularly friendly and had limited local knowledge that she wished to share with us.
There is ample parking at the rear of the building that looks secure enough.
The hotel has its own cafe and bakery next door which is very good.
The town itself has nothing to offer and I know that is not the hotels fault but it does put you in an accessible spot to visit local regions so a one night stop would have been enough for us.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the second floor are noisy because of a generator sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_gardening_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lance
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived here, the reception area impressive, the out side impressive, and the best curry I have ever tasted in the restaurant, but the room we were given was number 117, like I was put in the naughty corner, which I did tell them, the room had poor lighting lots of ants, and a shower over the bath that flooded the room, the view from the window looked out over tin roofs, shame that the public room styling is not carried to the rooms. We have been traveling the garden route, and the standard of the hotels have been very good, this not as good as some we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What is with Oudtshoorn? Nothing but very cheap shops, and very little else? At least the Queens Hotel was a sparkling jewel in a very ordinary town.

The Hotel is lovely - beautifully and tastefully decorated, and the guest lounge was stunning. I liked the outside courtyard too. The marble flooring and staircase were opulent, as was the large room we stayed in. Very nice bed and spotless bathroom.

Close to Cango Caves, Cango Wildlife Ranch and the Ostrich Farms, this is the place to stay in the area!

Good service, excellent breakfast and highly recommended for a comfortable place to stay. I like the fact that the Royal Family stayed there years ago, and there is a photo in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
181 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a hard hotel to fault. Slightly old fashioned perhaps but in the best possible sense. A refined hotel reminiscent of a gentlemans club in Britain in the fifties but with every convenience of a modern luxury hotel. The staff are welcoming, the room large and stylish and the food was excellent. Overall a hotel I would love to return to. It was a pleasure to sit in the elegant drawing room (it would be so wrong to call this lovely room a lounge) awaiting an excellent dinner and to sit there again afterwards to have coffee. Top marks and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
16.0 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 5 Baron van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial elegance, modern convenience The Queen's Hotel is an oasis of colonial elegance and wired modern convenience in the heart of Oudtshoorn - the capital of the beautiful semi-arid Klein Karoo. Finished in 1880, this grand dame of South African hoteliery has recently been restored to her full original beauty and continues to offer sumptuous accommodation, service and dining that is reminiscent of a bygone era but driven by dynamic modern hotel management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing