We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“walm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #21 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“walm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We travelled 5 hours from cape town to arrive at the de opstlal hot and tired. We were welcomed by name on arrival and shown straight to our room, which was like something out of a movie it was so pretty and quaint.The gentleman on the desk, whos name I am sorry to say I have forgotten ,then offered us a drink and should us where we could move our car closer to the room, we couldnt have been made to feel more welcome exactly what we needed.We spent a very relaxing afternoon by the pool in the beautiful grounds with a couple of ostriches wondering about. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was not open for dinner when we stayed ,and this is the only negative aspect of our stay, the service, the grounds the accommodation was all fantastic, we just wished we had stayed longer

Room Tip: rooms 20 and 21 have fantastic views over the pool and gardens
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyjones1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    102
    48
    29
    4
See reviews for
40
208
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

What a true delight. The De Opstal Country Lodge proved to be the most delightful and relaxing stay in the Ostrich district of South Africa. The extensive grounds are beautifully maintained and include a wonderful pool area and abound with visual delights. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the relaxing atmosphere created by the hosts and the staff make this a special place. The dining room and bar are lovely and the breakfast outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed 6 nights for our 4th stay at this lovely property. Great staff - always very welcoming. Lovely rooms - quirky Karoo style, with all modern amenities. Excellent pool and garden. Breakfasts, particularly the fruit choice, are excellent. Dinners - sometimes buffet, sometimes a la carte - good choice and quality. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is individual - check out the website which shows pictures of every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a garden route tour, the room was spacious and clean although possibly not as good as some of the other accommodation we stayed at. The hot water in the bathroom was a bit hit and miss

Both the dinner and breakfast is served in the main dining room, there was a reasonable choice for both and the food was of a reasonable quality – the ostrich pate was fantastic and there was a good choice of desert, however one of the yogurts for breakfast had clearly been out for a few days as had an acidic taste
Overall was a good stay and would return if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a great place. The staff just couldn't do enough for you and all so courteous and friendly. The rooms were large and clean with air con.
The restaurant was large and self service but excellent quality.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Quaint, quirky and delightful.
Breakfast a little haphazard and limited.
Evening buffet style meal with varied choice.
Room 4 well appointed and air conditioned.
Beautiful extensive gardens with pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parow, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were very friendly greeted by Ilonka and offered the honeymoon suite without having asked for it.
The staff and management were fantastic and the service very goodt. The room was large and spacious and the dinner that evening was excellent and worth the price.The only negative was the unreasonably priced Boplaas wines on the list. Very good wine but you need to have a choice of wines. .
Very relaxing and excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
#12 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#13 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
12.0 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing