We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, warm welcome.”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #21 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, warm welcome.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lodge for one night on our way along the Garden Route. The spacious, quirky bedrooms are beautifully but individually furnished with large balconies looking onto the well tended grounds. We loved the wood burning stove in our room and appreciated the heat it produced. Sadly the bathroom had no heating and, with fluctuating water temperature in the shower, washing was a bit of a chilly affair.
The wholesome meals were served buffet style which suited our family of hungry men and everyone enjoyed the quality and selection of food which was very good for both the evening meal and breakfast.
We were made to feel very welcome and 'at home' during our very brief stay and I would not hesitate to recommend De Opstal to anyone looking for accommodation along the Garden Route

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    108
    50
    29
    4
See reviews for
42
216
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If you need to break your visit across the Cape then this is an ideal way to do it! It is a real oasis of calm, hospitality and warmth. The rooms are almost separate little chalets and ours was fantastic! Enormous bathroom , log burner in the room, lovely big armchairs and a veranda. We lived it! Just a shame we hasn't booked fir another night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We only stayed here for one night on our journey along The Garden Route.

We stayed in one of the comfortable large rooms.Very large luxurious bathroom. coffee and tea making facilities, tv which we did not use.The surrounding gardens were beautiful. Very friendly and warm atmosphere. The dinner was buffet style and delicious. We ate as a group on one large table. 8 of us on this tour. Breakfast was delicious and a plentiful supply of juices, breads, cereal and sausages, bacon etc. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hourihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love visiting this establishment. They are consistently good with what they offer and as we have been here several times, we can also see that they maintain their property very well. They make sure that the visitor feels at home by a clever mix of decor and surprises. We arrived on a very cold day and we were welcomed with a room where they lit the fireplace and brought a big pot of coffee for us and hot chocolate for the kids (and no extra charge!). Expect to find a huge bathroom with all the amenities from shampoo, etc. All rooms have a television, hairdryer, aircon and also coffee/tea and lovely biscuits. They also have a fridge and wineglasses etc. on the veranda of every room. Loads of comfortable places to sit and read in the garden and a restaurant and bar for breakfast and dinner. They are conveniently situated enroute to the Cango Caves, Wilgewandel (a lovely playpark for kids) and gamefarms etc. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Sadly we only stayed here for the one night as we only arrived late afternoon.
Our room was one of the cottages set in the magnificent gardens which are beautifully kept.
The room was large with a fantastic bathroom with a corner bath, walk in shower. We enjoyed a quiet sundowner drink in the gardens before our evening meal and a very peaceful night sleep.
The breakfast was one of the best we had on the tour with so much choice and the service went that little bit extra to make sure everything was perfect.
If we visit this area again we would try and make sure we stay at De Opstal again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montegiorgio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Unfortunately we stay in this hotel only one night, wish to stay longer.
everything was perfect from the warm welcome till the sad check out.
Immediately we feel like we were at home and been in this place for long time, the room was fantastic ,with attention to the smallest detail. Bathroom was spacious, clean and even with Jacuzzi. Food and services in the restaurant was perfect.
overall marvelous stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunillu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San luis obispo, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here forgone night prior to going to the caves and ostrich farm. Dinner and ambiance was outstanding but then upon returning to the room for a shower, e hot water was nowhere to be found. The same thing happened in the morning. Having a hot shower is one of life's joys and going 0/2 diminished the value associated with this place considerably. Absolutely beautiful grounds though, great food, just need some hot h20!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPM805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#6 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Die Fonteine
Die Fonteine
#20 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Thorntree Country House
The Thorntree Country House
#32 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
106 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rosenhof Country House
Rosenhof Country House
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
Berluda Farmhouse & Cottages
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing