We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #20 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Words cannot describe our room. The rooms had a rustic decor and was very spacious. The bathroom had a jacuzi and a walkin shower.
We enjoyed sitting on the veranda in the evenings. The breakfasts were ok. but the evening meals were outstanding. The service by all the staff was excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them. I look forward to the day when I can return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    99
    45
    29
    4
See reviews for
38
204
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very nice garden and convenient fr all the visits.Rooms are comfortable, clean and acceptable.The female touch is everywhere, but it is lacking in the food. The evening buffet is below average and the breakfast is a avoidable. You can see the chef has no imagination or a very tight budget. Group hotel and service could improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites here, c little bit of a jaunt from the town. Lovely rustic voters he style rooms. We had only got out of the car & were told if we wanted to eat in the restaurant we would have to choose off the menu & order before 6. We can both eat pretty much anything, but my chicken pie was unrecognisable & chips raw. My husbands ostrich curry looked like shepherds pie! Breakfast not much better ! Dining room very dated & unorganised. Worst meal we had in s.a.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COCO186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the most delightful lodge - every room different and charming. The gardens are beautifully kept. The cleanliness in rooms is second to none. Food is first class; breakfast buffet excellent.
Mathilda and all her superb staff cannot do enough for you - happy smiling faces all day, every day.
This is the third time we have visited this oasis - it certainly won't be our last.
Well done Mathilda and every one at De Opstal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be renamed 'the garden of Eden'. Beautiful grounds, exotic birds everywhere we looked. Total tranquility for anyone looking for such an experience.

Matilda, the owner, gave us a marvellous welcome. the staff were a delight - Marius and Frank in pArticular seemed like old friends by the time we left. We would certainly stay here for longer next time..

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cottage style room set in beautiful gardens. Quite a surprise as something different from the expected. Yes it is quiet, there was only two other couples. The food was fairly basic but very tasty! The breakfast buffet table was worth a picture, so beautifully laid out. There was an open air wedding chapel. Garden swimming pool.
Out of town but near the Canga Caves.
Only there for one night but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed on 20 December. We thought we had booked two rooms (one for my wife and I and one for our boys) but ended up with a massive suite. It was all very quiet. Rustic but clean. The staff really made an effort the next day with rose petals spread over the breakfast table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
9.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.3 mi away
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
#12 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
7.5 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#8 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing