We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for s one night stop. Food in restaurant lets it down badly”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #21 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for s one night stop. Food in restaurant lets it down badly”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites here, c little bit of a jaunt from the town. Lovely rustic voters he style rooms. We had only got out of the car & were told if we wanted to eat in the restaurant we would have to choose off the menu & order before 6. We can both eat pretty much anything, but my chicken pie was unrecognisable & chips raw. My husbands ostrich curry looked like shepherds pie! Breakfast not much better ! Dining room very dated & unorganised. Worst meal we had in s.a.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COCO186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    104
    50
    29
    4
See reviews for
41
211
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is the most delightful lodge - every room different and charming. The gardens are beautifully kept. The cleanliness in rooms is second to none. Food is first class; breakfast buffet excellent.
Mathilda and all her superb staff cannot do enough for you - happy smiling faces all day, every day.
This is the third time we have visited this oasis - it certainly won't be our last.
Well done Mathilda and every one at De Opstal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RODNEYANDPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel should be renamed 'the garden of Eden'. Beautiful grounds, exotic birds everywhere we looked. Total tranquility for anyone looking for such an experience.

Matilda, the owner, gave us a marvellous welcome. the staff were a delight - Marius and Frank in pArticular seemed like old friends by the time we left. We would certainly stay here for longer next time..

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cottage style room set in beautiful gardens. Quite a surprise as something different from the expected. Yes it is quiet, there was only two other couples. The food was fairly basic but very tasty! The breakfast buffet table was worth a picture, so beautifully laid out. There was an open air wedding chapel. Garden swimming pool.
Out of town but near the Canga Caves.
Only there for one night but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterPhippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed on 20 December. We thought we had booked two rooms (one for my wife and I and one for our boys) but ended up with a massive suite. It was all very quiet. Rustic but clean. The staff really made an effort the next day with rose petals spread over the breakfast table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Tucked away off the main motorway, a small number of cottage-like rooms, some of which have amazing views of the gardens. Breakfast is good (though it was better in other places). Service is friendly.

Room Tip: Room 13 - has an amazing view and a small, cozy reading room and a sit out area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a beautiful lodge with large pretty gardens and spacious rooms. This place is 10 min drive away from town. It is pretty remote. The night that we checked in, we did not see any guests around. The place looked forlorn and deserted. It gets pretty eerie especially after the front office closed. The restaurant was closed on the day of our stay so don't count on the resturant and be prepared to drive into 10 min into town for your meals. The service staff is friendly and accommodating. The place is clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask whether the rooms are near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrchidSpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
7.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
Altes Landhaus Country Lodge
#13 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
12.0 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Property: De Opstal
Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing