We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Opstal Country Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
170
128
56
34
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
128
56
34
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscango cavesone nightjacuzzi bathfarm buildingswood burning firegarden routebuffet mealcountry stylebuffet stylerustic charmthe black swancountry lodgeostrich farmset in beautiful gardensan overnight staypatehuge room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 396 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The lodges were beautifully decorated and the gardens were lovely presented. Although the lodge has a restaurant it was closed on our first night there so the staff made a recommendation and reservation for us at Jemimas - initially we were a little annoyed since we'd been hoping not to have to travel back into Oudtschoorn (about 14km away) but the food in the in Jemima's was beautiful, very large portions for starters and brilliantly cooked game steaks for main. The second night we ate at De Opstal and the food was ok. There was a large coach party which we had been warned about and chosen to eat before them. The food was buffet style and was ostrich neck stew - not something I would recommend as it is mainly bones with very little meat. However the homemade bread was delicious and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night just to break up the very long drive from Cape Town over to Plettenburg Bay. It was a bit odd as we were a couple on our honeymoon and everyone else was in a massive tour group. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our cabin was cosy, with our own log fire, which we really enjoyed making and watching in the evening. However there was no wifi in the room, the TV didn't have reception, and the food in the restaurant was just ok rather than good. When we checked out the next day we were also suprised at how expensive the dinner was. Given that there are not many other hotels around, this is a good place to stop over, but don't get your hopes up to high. We stayed in 5 places in South Africa on our honeymoon and all the others were wonderful. This one sticks out as below par.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesy_Gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Drove to De Opstal from Cape Town with my wife at the start of a Graden Route tour, so needed somewhere to relax and refresh. The lodge did not disappoint. Our room was large, well-appointed, quiet. The reception from Illona and the other staff was just right. The buffet breakfast was as good as anywhere. Evening meals had to be pre-ordered but were delicious. As a base for visits to the Cango Caves, Cango wildlife park (more of a zoo really) and a local waterfall, the lodge was perfect. The gardens are an attractive contrast to the surrounding working farms, even with a pair of grumpy ostriches on site. Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluepeter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely welcome from very friendly staff and owners.
Stayed in room 21 again, roomy, quiet with its own log fire. Excellent bathroom and shower, very comfortable large bed.
Enjoyed dining in both evenings with good (by the glass) wine. Small menu but enough choice and good quality food. Cool evenings so the wood burning fire in the restauant very welcoming.
Peaceful grounds for a stroll before a glass of wine on the terrace to see the sun down.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent outstanding value and this being our 2nd visit, staff brilliant food excellent location out of town but definitely worth the visit.

The place to stay when near Cango Caves and OUDTSHOORN, ideal base when visiting this area

a place to chill whilst touring along Route 62

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews