We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Quaintness”
Review of De Opstal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Opstal
Ranked #22 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Upon arriving from Capetown to Oudtshoorn where it was much hotter, we were delighted to arrive at De Opstal where a warm welcome from Monique made us right at home. Our 2 rooms were out of this world with fresh flowers and ice drinks in our own personal fridge on our private porch. Bar drinks were served direct to your porch if you wish and the jacuzzi bath with robes was a luxurious touch. Service here is second to none and unknown to us they arranged for the security guard to call us for our early morning start 0430 hrs (to go hot air ballooning) and to have the gates opened for us. We were too tired to travel back to the town and opted to have dinner in hotel. It was beautiful, all home made except one thing. The only dessert they had available that night was strawberries and ice cream but when it arrived it was tinned strawberries (which we all hate). This was the only let down in what was overall the nicest place we stayed in South Africa over 2 weeks.
I highly recommend a visit here to have some R & R.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irish61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 354 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

We first discovered De Opstal some years ago when we were driving to the Cango caves - beautiful green gardens among the parched countryside – their water bill must be enormous! On our recent visit, the accommodation on this working ostrich farm had been completely refurbished. The converted stables were still full of antique furniture but had spotless new bathroom facilities.
We lived in South Africa some 30 years ago and particularly enjoyed the traditional South African cuisine together with the excellent local wines.
We visited De Opstal this time whilst touring in the Eastern Cape, making a detour from the Knysna to Cape Town road. We fancied a few days break from the driving to relax and chill out. Although we went there to relax there are some wonderful drives in the area with spectacular scenery.
The owner, Matilda De Bod, was very friendly and efficient and made us most welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saskia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

We just turned up on Sunday at lunchtime and booked a lovely cottage to sleep 6 for just 4 of us. It was very rustic, i.e. an old range in
the kitchen on which our friend cooked dinner (male!) but very charming and the bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely, much more modern. We spent the day there and had a lovely relaxing time, the house was spotlessly clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. The restaurant was closed for dinner bur our rate included a
lovely breakfast. Would definitely go there again.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank Hunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

The accommodation at the hotel is in converted farm buildings and is 10km out of Oudtshoorn. Our room was enormous, a huge bed, sofa, armchairs and outside on the verandah the fridge and tea/coffee making facilites.

The bathroom was very good with a large walk in shower. The bath was scattered with rose petals and sprigs of lavender and rosemary were on the soap and loo roll.

The gardens are beautiful, as you approach it is a colourful oasis, so different from the surrounding land.

The food was good but not special, one night the dining room was closed which was a surprise, however, we were directed to Jemima's in the town where we enjoyed one of the most memorable meals of our months holiday.

The staff were friendly and helpful and we were well looked after.

One day we played golf at Oudsthoorn Golf Club. We were made very welcome, we had the course to ourselves and a round of golf for two, plus a buggy, two drinks and sandwiches came to £40......can't be bad.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfbuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

This is a lovely hotel, consisting of an old farmhouse and outbuildings. The accomodation is spotlessly clean and the grounds beautiful. The pool area is lovely and very peaceful. My only critism would be the food. It was very poor - the chef even produced a jar of cook in sauce to see if I would like that! There are no other restaurants nearyby unless you want to drive. It is outside Oudsthourn on the same road as the Cango caves, ostritch farm and wildlife park.So although food wasn't great the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ostGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2007

Lovely facilities and scenery but very limited service.

We arrived at De Opstal after a 4 hour drive just in time for dinner. Unfortunately we were told on arrival that the restaurant was closed that night and that no other arrangements had been made. The hotel is several miles out of town and I had to drive back to town for dinner. I felt rather like the Californian in Fawlty Towers. After a long drive I wanted to freshen up and have dinner, but that wasn't possible.

A helpful guy met us on arrival and took us and our bags to the room. The room was well furnished, cool and quiet. The bathroom was superbly equipped and furnished with lots of good toiletries.

Breakfast in the morning was OK. Several staff were present but only one appeared to do anything. On our departure the only interest shown was by one member of staff whose only concern was getting our accommodation voucher.

It was difficult to seek a remedy for any of the complaints as reception was unmanned for pretty much all of our time there.

The gardens and swimming pool are fantastic and the setting is great. Just a shame about the service.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Seadog68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

De Opstal is like an oasis on the R328 from Oudtshoorn towards the Cango Caves.
It is a delightful place to stay and is just like the images on their website. The rooms are all in small cottage like buildings, dotted around the spectacular gardens, all with their own outdoor seating area, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and are well equipped with decent hairdryers, TV’s etc.. Our room was generously proportioned with a large leather settee, coffee table and plenty of wardrobe / cupboard space. Bathrooms are large and the showers powerful. There was air-conditioning in each room and fireplaces for the winter too.
Paths were lit buy candles at night and there was a spring of lavender put on your pillow too. The owners were friendly and staff seemed happy too, even washing your car every morning.
The breakfast buffet was good, but evening buffet was slightly limited – 6 of the 7 main courses were ostrich! Well there are ostriches on site which is part of the charm. Having said that we mentioned that I am vegetarian and they were more than happy to make me a special meal. Children were also very welcome.
This is the sort of place where sitting by the pool, looking at the beautiful gardens you can truly relax, but if you like being on the go there’s plenty to choose from in close proximity. We would return if we ever have the chance.

3  Thank Ilovemypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
6.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
509 reviews
12.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
199 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
548 reviews
7.2 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $103 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De Opstal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your De Opstal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing