We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for Ostrich Steak”

Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Cuisines: Grill, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our lovely café offers light meals for our visitors to enjoy. Many of our visitors want to taste Ostrich and with the a la Carte menu at our Safari café there is an opportunity for you to indulge in one of the ostrich dishes on offer. We also have meal options available for our vegetarian guests. There is sure to be something on the menu that will please any palate.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked our meal on the Internet, so we enjoyed a discount. The steak itself is good, and the sauce is wonderful. I would say this restaurant is a reasonable choice for lunch if you are visiting the farm too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for your review ! We specialize in the preparation of Ostrich steak and I am glad to know you enjoyed your meal with us. Ostrich Fillet is very healthy since it is low in cholesterol and fat - it also means that if you do not know how to prepare Ostrich Fillet it will be tough. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great ostrich farm I will visit time and time again. Fantastic green and welcoming garden. Friendly staff. Good and tasteful and affordable food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank antoinettelouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your review ! We have "created" a lovely garden where our visitors can enjoy their meals ! Nice and cool with a little fountain to ensure that your surroundings match the lovely food. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

What an amazing experience! fantastic ostrich steak with a sauce which completes the meal to perfection! Friendly staff and all just feels like home! Definitely an experience that must be on the bucket list

    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your review ! We have a lovely garden where our guests can enjoy their meals and the many little "wild: birds like the Red Bishops and Masked Weavers are all around "playing" in the trees ! Good food complimented with relaxing atmosphere is what we want to create for our visitors. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

No visit to Oudsthoorn would be complete without eating some ostrich meat - it can be grilled, fried, stewed and enjoyed in large quantities as it is one of the most healthy meats. I enjoyed my perfectly grilled ostrich steak outside in the garden, served with a 'secret recipe' sauce and delicious fresh salad - highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

The Safari Ostrich Farm café is known for our superb Ostrich Fillet ! We serve our Ostrich with a secret sweet mustard sauce which is divine and compliments the Fillet beautifully. Thank you for your feedback and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

very good will highly recommend it. for international and national guest. even oudts residence can drive out there for n cup of coffee and slice of cake. Very nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rozanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your review ! We aim to provide something on our menu that will satisfy everyone's palate. We do prepare the most delicious ostrich dishes at our Café for our visitors to enjoy. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing