We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“101 reasons for staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation
Ranked #67 of 81 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

1. Superbly helpful and charming hostess
2. Gorgeous surroundings
3. Fascinating decor
4. Great breakfast
5. Quiet and secluded bedrooms
6. Short walk to great restaurants
7. Great spot for kids
......
101. Superbly helpful and charming hostess.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a self-catering unit, ( Unit 3 ) a week in advance at 101 Oudtshoorn and booked in at about 17:00 on 2013-09-26. The first problem was NO internet connection and problems with Telkom, which were luckily sorted out within a few minutes, with the owner pointing out an area about 10 METERS FROM THE UNIT, where I will be able to receive the wi-fi connection. (This information was never mentioned to me, after I specifically enquired about the internet connection, since our visit was business related.)
Our first impression of the unit was that it was spacious and clean, upon which I complimented the owner about. The cleanliness unfortunately lasted only after I've settled the bill....When I went into the bathroom,and lifted the seat, I noticed old faeces clinging clinging to the toilet seat, the bath-robes had some brown stuff on the collar as if it was worn by someone and never washed. By now I was really scared and thought about just leaving but it was late and my wife had to revise for an interview. PROBLEM...Never any wi-fi connection in the unit and my wife had to sit outside in the cold about 3 meters from the unit to receive the "free" wi-fi signal. Until the laptop's battery died.
Another shock when we prepared for bed....NO TOP-SHEETS... Just think about how dirty the linen should be if the bath-robes were as filthy. I called the owner and complaint about the absence of the top sheets and was informed that this was the way all her units was, and that I was the only one to complain. My impression was that no extra effort were to be made to accommodate me with a top sheet. We then remade the bed and more surprises. The mattress cover were full of stains and my wife had to turn it around. We noticed that the pine bed boards were loose and every time when we turned around a knocking sound...wood against brick...even the brick-bed were really not user friendly, as we keep knocking and scraping our legs against the sharp un-plastered brick edges. Under the bed is a storage for pine wood and something wrapped in a black-plastic, all dusty and a perfect breeding place for spiders....We had a bad nights sleep...and when I woke up and made a cup of coffee? My first mouthful... THE COMPLIMENTARY MILK WAS ALL PASS THE EXPIRY DATE...3 DAYS.
This experience left me with serious questions about the authenticity of the reviews. Also about the use of sites like Tripadvisor. Is it really helping or is it like the adverts, JUST TO MISLEAD... It is time to post real reviews, so people can make informed decisions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a wonderful time in Oudtshoorn. The guesthouse was amazing and the hosts so friendly. The play area for the kids are fantastic with a little house, trampoline, sandpit, ect. The area is child friendly and we love the big garden. Only 5 min from Pick a Pay centre. Will def stay there again !

Room Tip: The corner flat is lovely if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just came back from a family holiday in the Cape and we stayed for 2 nights at 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation. The place is lovely, comfortable and well equipped. It is very close to town and to the various activities in Oudtshoorn. I highly recommend the place - you feel really at home in a very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spacious grounds; well-kept rooms; welcoming hosts! Self-catering units include your own patio and braai. Well-located in a quiet neighbourhood a comfortable walk from the centre. Convenient on-site parking, in-room safe, and nice pool. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Miranda's is a great self-catering unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandTPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101_Accommodation, Manager at 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Marie,

Thanks for your feedback on your stay.
Good to hear that you had such a great time.
We hope to see you and TJ again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a perfect stay at 101 Guesthouse! We had a self cathering room and it was a very lovely, comfortable, spacious and clean room. We were with a little child and for him it was paradise! A big playground, a swimmingpool and a treehouse.
It's very close to the centre and also near the most important high lights.
We will recommend this place to anybody, especially for families with kids!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaphnevW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101_Accommodation, Manager at 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Hi Daphne,

It was great having you hear and to see Xavi enjoying himself so much.
We hope to see you, Xavi and Jip again at our place!

Bart & Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Nice app. with braai. Fine place to stay, also with children, nice playground and swimming poule Very kind ownwers and staff. Centrum village is close and the ostrichfarm is in the neighbourhood. The place is very safe.



  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PBV3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101guesthouse_OHA, Owner at 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Peter and Els,

We trust you had a wonderfuly holiday here in South Africa.
Thank you for your review; it is good to read that we can give people a pleasant and relaxing time.
Must have been quit an adjustment to the weather in The Netherlands!

Sunny regards,

Bart and Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.4 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
5.6 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
1,002 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
No photo provided
Backpackers Oasis Shanti
#26 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
61 reviews
16 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
221 reviews
9.8 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation

Address: 161 Jan van Riebeeckroad, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $37 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation is situated in a quiet area, but still in walking distance from the centre of town. Families with children are very welcome, as we have the space and the facilities.We have guestrooms (on B&B basis) and selfcatering units (breakfast can be arranged for this option).Come and enjoy Oudtshoorn in the Klein Karoo, where the SUN shines more!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 101 Oudtshoorn Holiday Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing