We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and relaxing place to stay”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is an ideal place to stay. Lovely welcome,clean nicely situated rooms, fantastic breakfast , helpful staff what more do you want. Well done to all the staff, nice touches include getting your car washed and pink fizzy at breakfast .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Hlangana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 492 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed in this lodge to break up our journey between Cape Town and Port Alfred. This was a perfectly charming, peaceful lodge set in a lovely location. The room looked over the gardens which were really lovely and even has a resident tortoise! The room itself was very clean and comfortable with its own veranda. The staff were really helpful and friendly from the minute you check in until you check out, nothing is too much trouble for them, and the champagne breakfast is delicious, it was perfect for what we needed. It is close to the caves and Ostrich farms so there are things to do without going too far and there are some lovely restaurants that the girls recommended to have dinner, all close by. I would definitely recommend this lodge to others doing the garden route.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w7nroddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Hlangana for 1 night, like most of the travelers. The rooms are nice and spacious with a little veranda and a view into the lovely gardens of this hotel. We had a very tasty breakfast. The parking is good and directly on the premises.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were not sure about this accommodation prior to arrival as the website did not look great. However we were more than happy with the location and welcome. Thank you Angie for a fantastic greeting and a refreshing drink on arrival. The lodge itself has lovely grounds and well appointed rooms. We were in a superior room which was very nice and had a garden view. One downside for me was that we had booked a superior double and this consisted of two single beds pushed together which was not great and did not make for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was very good so overall a much better than expected stay and if you are in the area well wort a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and had a lovely garden room with a beautiful bathroom. The champagne breakfast was delicious. A great location for visiting the Cango Wildlife Ranch and the caves- both well worth a visit. Would recommend this property

Room Tip: Garden rooms are possibly quieter than pool rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynK6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were staying for two nights in this lodge, and it was absoultely perfect. Very nice room, a good breakfast and a very friendly service.We were very happy to stay at this lodge, it was totally relaxing. In Outshoorn definitely the best stay you can have.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great service and helpful staff,good location for wildlife ranch and caves. Choice of local restaurants. Excellent setting around gardens and pool,free wifi. secure parking.Breakfast service was good. Enjoyable stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank abc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing