We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place not to be missed.”
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hlangana Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wonderful setting in picturesque scenery. Elegant setting with luxury accommodation. Friendly and obliging staff, even after I pranged their front gate! Breakfast was of high standard. An enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willysom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Hlangana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

A huge thank you to Angelique and her team at Hlangana Lodge in Oudtshoorn - you have no idea , but Andy and myself didnt want to leave that day - fell inlove with the serenity and tranquility of Hlangana Lodge
Each one of you plays a role and it comes together at the end where you get feedback from your guests !!
loved the cleanliness and peace and quiet although close to main road , but you hardly hear any traffic
Loved our stay indeed !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32Misha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable, relaxed, good service and great breakfast. Business stay. Huge bathroom and spa bath which might be great for holiday guests. The decor needs an update, although I should mention that this a personal opinion and taste. They are trying to maintain an African theme. Great proximity to town for business. Staff super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDomingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

to the ladies at Hlangana Lodge, thank you for your hospitality and always making us feel at home. this is the third time we visited the lodge and still the same experience. Angelique, Chantelle and Anja, well done guys. Also to the staff, keep it up. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

we stay only one night at hlangana but it was a very pleasant stay. Very friendly people, a helpful staff and a beautiful garden let us feel happy. For other restaurants its a 5-10 minutes walk and to "downtown" we need 20 minutes per feed. The breakfast includes a big variety, including ostrich sausage. Try it. mmmh.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArminundGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very beautiful, very friendly people, overall it is a fantastic place. The location in town is perfect for walking and it is also very quiet at night. We were happily suprised with the nice breakfast. We will definitely return to Hlangana in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here on a groupon voucher, and despite this we were treated the same as anyone else. The rooms are large and clean, the bathroom was frankly HUGE. The staff were very helpful with whatever we asked (Even if its stupid) and overall had a lovely stay. Would come again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoHudson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
1.0 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
15.3 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
8.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing