We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome fun!”

Cango Wildlife Ranch
Book In Advance
More Info
$658.17*
and up
5-Day Private Garden Route Tour: Tsitsikamma National Park, Addo Elephant...
More Info
$431.08*
and up
5-Day Garden Route Adventure Tour: Addo National Park, Jeffreys Bay, Wilderness...
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cango Wildlife Ranch is internationally recognised as one of South Africa’s premier tourism attractions. Conveniently situated en route to the Cango Caves near Oudtshoorn, the Ranch offers visitors a huge variety of awe-inspiring activities at one location for a value-packed price – suitable for the whole family and open 365 days a year! In addition to our wonderful encounter programs, where you can meet an ambassador cheetah, the ranch also offers two Firsts: Lemur Falls – the first interactive Lemur experience in Africa! - and Crocodile Cage Diving - a World First - where you can test your mettle against the dangerous gaze of a Nile Crocodile via a steel cage lowered into their watery domain! As a PAAZA (Pan-African Association of Zoos and Aquaria) accredited facility, a proud member of WAZA(World Association of Zoos and Aquariums), and a multiple winner of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Cango Wildlife Ranch remains a unique world-class facility which strives to provide conservation through education by means of various conservation projects, initiatives and informative guided tours! A significant percentage of all proceeds go straight back into our conservation initiatives providing you with ethical and unforgettable fun and memories. For unlimited adventure for the whole family – visit Cango Wildlife Ranch!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Titusville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome fun!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We joined a guided walking tour of the park and had a very passionate guide who told us all kinds of things about the resident animals. For a few bucks, we also enjoyed a one-on-one cheetah encounter. With out being that close you just don't know how LOUD a cheetah can purr!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyblu324fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    501
    158
    44
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Face to face with a big cat !!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We visited Cango Wildlife ranch in September. It is located on the north side of Oudtshoorn less than 2 miles from the centre. Our guide (Ed) was very knowledgeable and entertaining, he kept the tour very interesting.

Tours start every hour or so, and whilst we waited for Ed we visited meerkats and other small species. There was the usual souvenir shop and a cafe. Whilst not really noticing, I would say once inside the site is disabled friendly with no steps or ladders.

When the tour got underway, we visited endangered species before passing crocs and then the cats. This for me, was the best part of the tour as at the end (for approx. 200SAR) you could get into the pen with two cheetahs, stroke them and have a complimentary souvenir photograph taken with them, the ranger used my camera to take additional photographs and then Ed used it to take close shots FROM INSIDE the Tiger pen !! Rather him than me !!

I would not hesitate to recommend this site to all, it was good value overall. Visiting time 2 hours or so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesMiserablegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly guides and lots to see”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located just outside Oudtshoorn on the way to Cango Caves, we spent about 3 hours in the Wildlife ranch and enjoyed the experience.

On entry you join a guided tour which takes you around all the attractions with an entertaining commentary. The tour ends in the Big Cats enclosure where you can see lions, tigers and cheetahs moving around their compounds.

There is an opportunity to meet some of the animals face to face and although this is promoted by the guide, it isn't a hard sell. The most awesome sight are the crocs, plenty in their pool and they were all moving around - maybe feeding time was due!

There are a couple of places to have something to eat and prices seemed reasonable. Parking is right outside the entrance.

Well worth a visit if you are staying in the town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank simonstevens3911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must see!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Ranch is just amazing! The grounds are beautiful, and the animals are well looked after! all the staff have a great attitude, and you can feel their passion for the animals. The animal interaction was great, i often find this a rip off, but not here, it was well worth it. I did the crocodile diving, and it comes with great bragging rights. Bring your camera, and be prepared to pay for all the extras, but its well worth the money spent. I would travel back to Oudshoorn just to visit the ranch!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TE_D_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will come again, Definitely”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Great day at the Ranch. Very informative and educational - big ups to Kevin our tour guide, thanks for a sweet tour.

Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cango Wildlife Ranch also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Cango Wildlife Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing