We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was quite fun”

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.23*
and up
Safari Ostrich Farm Tractor Tour in Oudtshoorn
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was quite fun”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Did you know ostrich eggs can fully support the weight of a large person? You will learn about that and much more at this well established ostrich farm. We had a delicious lunch of ostrich and chicken with all the appropriate sides at the on-site restaurant. The shop is filled with beautiful ostrich leather goods.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladyblu324fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review ! I must agree with you that the fact that a grown man can stand on an ostrich egg is amazing. The ostrich egg can take a weight of up to 200kg. Many visitors are so amazed when we allow them the opportunity to stand on the eggs that they think it is not real; until we let them feel the egg. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    392
    121
    29
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ostrich”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited this on the road to the Cango Caves so not sure if this is the right one. We were early and had the tour guide to ourselves and he let us feed the ostriches. From what we saw of the riding display we are glad we did not even try it ourselves. They had a nice little shop there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review ! Riding ostriches is quite an unique experience and also not for the faint-hearted ! Ostriches are the fastest two-legged animals in the world and can run at speeds of up to 70km per hour. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Everything about ostrich”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

It is the place one should go if want to know and see ostrich, nothing else. The tour included a short slide presentation about ostrich, then a visit to the farm and see the live ostrich. There was also a chance to sit and ride an ostrich, but beware, riding it is not as easy as it look. And the finale of the tour was 'the ostrich race'
There also a shop selling everything related to ostrich - souvenir stuff, leather ware etc. but be warned, children are not 'welcome' inside ( there was a sign ' children are not allowed to touch', hence not welcome)
There also a food stall, selling mostly ostrich meat food, really nice and well price, and one can enjoy the meal at an open space 'garden'

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review ! I am glad you enjoyed the tour and found the race and riding fun. We have emu's as well and all the different types of ostriches; something you will not be able to see at any other ostrich farm. Unfortunately due to the fragile and expensive nature of a lot of the products in the shop, we do kindly request that children must rather not touch or play with these items ie Ostrich Eggs and our Ostrich Leather Items, however there is baskets full of Soft Toys in the store that the children can enjoy playing with along with other items we have in stock specifically for kids. Thank you for your visit and feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
228 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Highlight in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Safari Ostrich Show Farm is perfect for a 1-2 h visit when you are in Oudtshoorn. You will receive an excellent information about the Ostriches and experience a close up with the birds. The guides are very knowledgeable, the staff and management paying lots of attention to their guests. Very tasty food, even for those who don't like to eat Ostrich.
A big 'Thank You' to all the Staff at the Farm! I will be back.............

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review ! We strive to make our visitor's experience at Safari unforgettable. We are also famous for our lovely ostrich dishes but as you say we do cater for vegetarians and have something on our menu that will please everybody. Thank you for your feedback ; we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
470 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
“Informative walking tour.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Farm is about 7kms from Oudtshoorn on the Oudtshoorn to Mossel Bay Road.

We did a walking tour that lasted about 45 minutes (R80pp) and involved viewing a brief film and general talk followed by a walk around the farm where they had several different types of ostriches and some emus. The latter looked small in comparison to its local relative. Nothing really spectacular about walking around enclosures filled with ostriches though we did get to stand on ostrich eggs, sit on an ostrich and watch two of the guides ride on them in a race over about 50 metres.

Picked up some interesting facts:
. Ostriches can run at approx. 60 kph for 4 klms therefore they can outrun/outlast lions;
. Male feathers are the white, more valuable feathers. Female feathers are generally used for feather dusters;
. Ostrich feather industry suffered a downturn after the invention of the motor car as ladies with large hats could not sit inside the vehicles;
. initially the ostriches were killed for the feathers but now farmers know how to cultivate the feathers without killing the birds.

There was a large shop on site selling a vast array of ostrich products. There was also a restaurant and a separate café. We had a very tasty and reasonably priced ostrich meat salad from the café.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your review ! The emu is the second biggest bird in the world after the ostrich but, as you say, much smaller. We got the emu's for our visitors to see the vast the difference in size between the ostrich and the emu. We also have in separate camps the different sub-species of ostrich of which the South African ostrich is the most well-known. Safari Ostrich farm is the only show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue ostriches can be viewed. Our Ostrich Fillet Salad is an very popular dish that we serve as part of our al a carte menu in our Coffee Shop. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing