We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice experience”

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.22*
and up
Safari Ostrich Farm Tractor Tour in Oudtshoorn
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I took some visitors from abroad to the farm and it was great. Our guide knowledgeable, full of humour and the cuddles received from the ostriches quite a highlight of the tour. We left an English tourist do the riding though...

Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review ! People who come visit us are usually on holiday and hence it is important for us that our guided tours must be fun as well as informative and inter-active. Thank you for bringing you friends to Safari Ostrich Farm and your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Safari Ostrich Show Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 718 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a fun and informative tour where you learn everything you could possibly want to know about ostriches. The guide was engaging and made it interesting at all times and the opportunity to stand on ostrich eggs and even sit on an ostrich itself are pretty unique! Sadly I was too heavy to ride on an ostrich. The ostrich race was also a nice touch.

There is an excellent restaurant serving great Ostrich steak and other food as well a good gift shop with an all manner of Ostrich items. A must do when on the Garden Route.

Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your review ! Ostriches are so very unique and special and are correctly associated with Oudtshoorn since it is here where commercial ostrich farming started over a hundred years ago. Many tourists can not visit the Garden Route without including a ostrich farm on their programme. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and absorbed the whole experience from the fun tour to the meal and to see what beautiful products can be made from ostrich skin and eggs ! Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I went all over South Africa by car and it is a beautiful country, its a must for your bucket list. Now I can say I have done it all.

Thank Tonescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review ! Ostriches are special and unique animals and are rightly associated with South Africa since it is here that commercial farming starting over a hundred years ago. Visiting a Ostrich farm as part of your trip to South Africa is essential and I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Safari Ostrich Farm. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow did our kids enjoy the tour at the Ostrich Farm, we visited Safari Ostrich Farm and a very informative guide took us on tour. Even though there was lots of info on the ostricheses, the guide still kept it interesting for the kids! They got to stand on the Ostrich eggs and even pick one up. We had a lovely lunch there and the kids had a play area, which meant we got a chance to enjoy a leisurely meal!

Thank Vanessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review ! We have a stunning big Garden at our reception for our visitors to enjoy whilst visiting us. Many of our visitors decide to have lunch in our garden due to the fact that it's such a peaceful setting - Our Coffee Shop offers a beautiful range of light meals to choose from. We also have a play area for little kids in our garden to allow Mom and Dad to have lunch whilst the kids can play. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent tour of Safari Ostrich Farm. The staff there was friendly and knowledgeable. We were able to see a variety of ostriches, learn about their characteristics, and touch them. Our daughter was even able to ride one. The best part is the price of admission made it affordable for families.

Thank TallahasseeTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy E, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review ! We see Safari Ostrich Farm as a "Tourist Attraction" that must be fun for everybody regardless your age and where you come from. Our tours of the farm is designed to be informative and interesting but at the same time not long and boring for kids. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing