We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholesome family fun”

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed November 4, 2012

So my buddy and I wanted to ride an ostrich. That was one of our major goals for our South Africa trip. To ride a freaking ostrich. We are both not small men, standing about 6'1" and naturally about 185 lbs - just under 90kg. We wanted to ride them and saw all kinds of weight limits, mostly 75kg (165 lbs) and some mentions of 80kg (176 lbs). So with months to prepare, we began dieting (I was aiming for 80kg as I'm quite buff ;) and couldn't realistically get much lower than that without cutting muscle).
We researched all the different ostrich farms before going to see what the weight limits were and our chances. All kind of reviews give different ideas - and as we traveled in South Africa and asked ppl (we were sorta obsessed - though it was a really great motivator to be healthy) - they all said not to worry, that the ostrich farms don't care that much and we'd be fine.
So we get there and at first try Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm - they were holding strictly to 75 kg, had a scale, and also the ostrich jockeys would decide in the end. These dudes are 5' tall and weigh about 10 kg. So we ended up avoiding that one as we heard that Safari Ostrich farm was less strict.
After Cango Caves, we drive back up through Oudtshoorn and to this place. Get there and find out their limit to ride (as in race) is 70kg - and they have a scale and weigh the crap out of you. So, that sucked. However, HOWEVER!! They allow up to 80kg to sit on the ostriches and take pictures. Which we did and it was spectacular. Though I felt sorta bad b/c these were not giant ostriches and so I tried not to put my full weight on it.
As far as the rest of the farm, we started with a little video, then toured the farm, seeing a variety of different ostrich species, emus, and got to stand on ostrich eggs to prove how strong they are. Then we watched a young lady volunteer to ride an ostrich and that was great - she was scared as hell and the thing ran all around (totally safe, 3 handlers were with her) and it was a lot of fun. Finished watching an ostrich race and bid adieu.
Good time.

1  Thank BIteyismyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review ! I am glad to hear you had a good tour even though you could not ride a ostrich because of the weight limit. We have the weight limit for the safety of the ostriches. The reason why the weight limit for sitting is 80kg compared to 70kg for riding is that whilst the birds are in the pen they have a chest support that means they do not feel your entire weight on them when you sit on a ostrich for a photo. Adult ostriches weigh between a 120 and 150kg and are very strong animals. I am delighted to hear you had a great time and thank you for the visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tractor ride"
in 38 reviews
"eggs"
in 134 reviews
"ostrich steak"
in 51 reviews
"informative tour"
in 31 reviews
"ostrich leather"
in 22 reviews
"curio shop"
in 26 reviews
"great fun"
in 34 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 23 reviews
"weight limit"
in 12 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 11 reviews
"fun experience"
in 12 reviews
"ostrich products"
in 12 reviews
"great guide"
in 10 reviews
"cango caves"
in 15 reviews
"farm"
in 238 reviews
"birds"
in 129 reviews
"trailer"
in 15 reviews
Filter

844 - 848 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the show farm since we were at Oudtshoorn for the day and had time to spare before heading to the Cango caves.

We learnt more about these large birds, the ostrich boom in Oudtshoorn, stood on ostrich eggs, got to take photos with or ride on the birds, and was treated to a mini ostrich race. The guide was friendly and informative.

Not fantastic, but was a pleasant tour nonetheless. It will be great for families with kids.

1  Thank JaniceTSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your review ! Oudtshoorn is the ostrich capitol of the world - and ostriches are the biggest and probably most unique and strangest birds in the world. I am pleased to know you found the tour to be pleasant and informative. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were taken on a our of the farm as a family. We parked just outside and paid on entry. WE waited five minutes for our guide and escorted into a video room were we saw a 15 minute show and talk. Then we went into the incubator rooms and then outside into the farm itself. Here we fed three ostriches from a bucket, were 'kissed' by another ostrich and other such activities. Eventually my daughter (you have to be less than 75 kgs) raced on the back of an ostrich. She found it a 'unique' experience. The rest of us are overweight so had to opt out. Then we went to buy some stuff such as ostrich eggs, feather dusters etc. We could have stayed to eat at the restaurant but we had other plans so we moved on, satisfied with our morning activity.

1  Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your review ! I am glad you had such a great time whilst visiting us and found your Safari experience to be pleasant and satisfying. We have the weight limit for riding to protect our ostriches. The riding is also just a small part of the overall tour. Maybe next time you will have time to join us for lunch; we are well known for our superior quality Ostrich Filet. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

a bit touristy, but we were the only ones on the 2pm tour with a great tourguide (she had just started there). Very informative- even got to sit on an ostrich :)

1  Thank QuesnelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your review ! I am glad you enjoyed your tour and found it informative and fun. We aim to make our guided tours exactly that and therefore I am glad you had such a wonderful time. Safari Ostrich Show Farm was establsihed as a toursit attraction in 1956 and over the years have become one of the most popular tourist attractions in the Garden Route. The family who owns the farm has been farming with ostriches for almost a 100 years. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The ostrich industry has apparently been hit by some horrible virus which means that Highgate is closed and Safari one of few survivors. If the guide has explained this to us we would have been much happier about wading through disinfecting solution and being given wipes to clean our hands.
The guide may have been competent, but her lack of clear pronounciation made it really difficult to underand.

1  Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for your review ! I appreciate your feedback with regards warning our visitors why they will walk through foot-dips and be asked to wipe their hands. I have asked our guides to inform our clients that we do that to protect our ostriches from the small chance that the toursits might have bacteria under their shoes from overnighting at guest farms in the region. All the guides at Safari can speak three or more languages since we get visitors from all over the world and are fluent in English - We have also French-speaking and German-speaking guides for example. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing