We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed through”

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.24*
and up
Safari Ostrich Farm Tractor Tour in Oudtshoorn
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Rushed through”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The ostrich industry has apparently been hit by some horrible virus which means that Highgate is closed and Safari one of few survivors. If the guide has explained this to us we would have been much happier about wading through disinfecting solution and being given wipes to clean our hands.
The guide may have been competent, but her lack of clear pronounciation made it really difficult to underand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your review ! I appreciate your feedback with regards warning our visitors why they will walk through foot-dips and be asked to wipe their hands. I have asked our guides to inform our clients that we do that to protect our ostriches from the small chance that the toursits might have bacteria under their shoes from overnighting at guest farms in the region. All the guides at Safari can speak three or more languages since we get visitors from all over the world and are fluent in English - We have also French-speaking and German-speaking guides for example. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    410
    124
    30
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
laguna, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Leather”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ostriches and their economic value. The guide will explain the life cycle, the ostriches economic value, etc. to see different kinds of ostriches. To taste ostrich steak and omelette. The gift shop offers egg shells, feathers, ostrich skin bags... Beautiful items.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for review ! I am glad to hear you had a wonderful time whilst visiting us ! You had the full Safari experience from partaking in one of our guided tours to even eating an ostrich omelette. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“a bit 'stage managed'”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not quite what I expected. Yes, you get close to a few ostriches but they look a bit tatty and not as healthy as the flocks you see grazing in the fields outside the town. This seems to be designed as somewhere for the coaches to stop and not a real farm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Safari Ostrich Show Farm was establshed as a tourist attraction in 1956 but the family that owns the farm has been farming with ostriches since 1932. We farm with ostriches on an extensive basis and the part that our visitors see is only a small part of the whole farm. Our other breeding birds are to aggressive and therefore dangerous for tourists to visit. We are the only show farm in South Africa where our visitors can see the Zimbabwe Blue and Kenyan Red ostriches as well as the local South African breed. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Visit to Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to visit family in Oudtshoorn - Dysselsdorp.

My kids live it there, especially the Cango Caves, Ostrich Farm, Cheeta Farm.

Visited the oudsthoorn Museum as well!

Spent half the day at Wiggle Waggle - Playpark for kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank shireen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Oudtshoorn is world famous for the ostrich farms and off course the spectacular Cango Caves. Oudtshoorn, as you say, has much to offer the tourist visitors and is therefore a very popular tourist destination. Thank you for your feedback and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Execllent small but well organised show farm”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited the day after a new chick had been born. The Ostrich riding was fantastic. and the guide was very knowledgeable a most enjoyable visit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CandlewoodLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review ! I am pleased to know you had a good time and enjoyed your guided tour. Adult ostriches weigh around a 120Kg and more and hence the eggs must be strong enough to carry the weight of the adult birds when they sit on them to incubate ; and because the egg-shell is so strong the little chick can take up to 10 hours to get out of the shell once they start hatching. To see a one day old ostrich chick which is bigger than a fully-grown dove is special. Thank you for your feedback and visit. !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing