We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leather”

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ostriches and their economic value. The guide will explain the life cycle, the ostriches economic value, etc. to see different kinds of ostriches. To taste ostrich steak and omelette. The gift shop offers egg shells, feathers, ostrich skin bags... Beautiful items.

1  Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for review ! I am glad to hear you had a wonderful time whilst visiting us ! You had the full Safari experience from partaking in one of our guided tours to even eating an ostrich omelette. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 810 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Not quite what I expected. Yes, you get close to a few ostriches but they look a bit tatty and not as healthy as the flocks you see grazing in the fields outside the town. This seems to be designed as somewhere for the coaches to stop and not a real farm.

1  Thank young grandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review ! Safari Ostrich Show Farm was establshed as a tourist attraction in 1956 but the family that owns the farm has been farming with ostriches since 1932. We farm with ostriches on an extensive basis and the part that our visitors see is only a small part of the whole farm. Our other breeding birds are to aggressive and therefore dangerous for tourists to visit. We are the only show farm in South Africa where our visitors can see the Zimbabwe Blue and Kenyan Red ostriches as well as the local South African breed. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to visit family in Oudtshoorn - Dysselsdorp.

My kids live it there, especially the Cango Caves, Ostrich Farm, Cheeta Farm.

Visited the oudsthoorn Museum as well!

Spent half the day at Wiggle Waggle - Playpark for kids.

Thank shireen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review ! Oudtshoorn is world famous for the ostrich farms and off course the spectacular Cango Caves. Oudtshoorn, as you say, has much to offer the tourist visitors and is therefore a very popular tourist destination. Thank you for your feedback and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We visited the day after a new chick had been born. The Ostrich riding was fantastic. and the guide was very knowledgeable a most enjoyable visit

Thank CandlewoodLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for your review ! I am pleased to know you had a good time and enjoyed your guided tour. Adult ostriches weigh around a 120Kg and more and hence the eggs must be strong enough to carry the weight of the adult birds when they sit on them to incubate ; and because the egg-shell is so strong the little chick can take up to 10 hours to get out of the shell once they start hatching. To see a one day old ostrich chick which is bigger than a fully-grown dove is special. Thank you for your feedback and visit. !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect but this was a very informative tour (45 mins) and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review ! Ostriches are the biggest birds in the world and have very unique attributes and behaviour. I am glad you found your guided tour informative and pleasant and that we could surprise you with what you experienced whilst visiting us. Thank you for your visit and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing