We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Ostrich Show Farm

Safari Ostrich Show Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.72*
and up
Safari Ostrich Farm Tractor Tour in Oudtshoorn
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Safari Ostrich Farm, established in 1956, welcomes you to the ostrich capitol of the world - Oudtshoorn. On arrival, you will meet one of our professional guides, who will take you on an unforgettable tour, where you will learn more about these remarkable birds and their fascinating nature. The guided tour includes a fun ride on one of our tractors through a huge ostrich breeding camp with 18 adult breeding birds around you - a truly unique experience in itself. Safari Ostrich Show Farm is the first show farm in South Africa where the Kenyan Red and Zimbabwe Blue Ostriches as well as the local South African breed can be viewed.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect but this was a very informative tour (45 mins) and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Ostriches are the biggest birds in the world and have very unique attributes and behaviour. I am glad you found your guided tour informative and pleasant and that we could surprise you with what you experienced whilst visiting us. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    372
    113
    27
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
711 reviews
339 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“I rode an ostrich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A picture tells a thousand stories and you can see it on the attached photos.

Many thanks for a great day. An amazing experience and learned lots about the history of the area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Glad to hear you had a wonderful day at Safari Ostrich Show Farm. We only allow visitors who weigh less than 70Kg to have an opportunity to ride a ostrich - I am therefore pleased that you had a fun ride and enjoyed your guided tour. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ostriches have great lashes!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's more of a should do, than have to do, but it's the only place to do it if you do!! Tour guide was hoarse and slightly bored I thhink, but you could still tell he liked the birds and took his job seriously e.g. Re: bird flu risks etc. the birds are impressive if you're not used to seeing them, but 45 mins is enough!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Glad you enjoyed your tour and found the ostriches impressive. The guide that took you around the farm started feeling fluish that day and hence the hoarse voice. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's great to discover the ostriches world. We learnt many things about them and rideng an ostrich is an unforgettable experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cris66Jesi_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review ! Riding ostriches are very unique and one only realises how strong they are once you have ridden one. An adult ostrich weighs between 120 and 140 Kg on average. They are also very fast. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to learn more about these funny looking birds and came away astonished about how unique ostriches really are ! Our guide Roland was very knowledgable and polite. Thank you for a great tour.

Helpful?
Thank b27spence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimblue, Manager at Safari Ostrich Show Farm, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review ! We aim to make the guided tour informative, interesting and fun. The one hour guided tour is designed to allow you to experience these remarkable birds in a entertaining manner without it becoming to long and overwhelming. Thank you for your visit and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Safari Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing