We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but very interesting”

Cango Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cango Ostrich Show Farm offers the ultimate ostrich experience with exciting and informative guided tours (daily from 9h00 to 17h00), a fantastic curio shop, a fine selection of award winning local wines; and a coffee shop / restaurant serving a lovely variety of light meals. We host groups and schools, whose itinerary often includes delicious pre-booked meals. Situated 14km outside of Oudtshoorn on the road to the Cango Caves.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Short but very interesting”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A 45 minute tour of the Ostrich farm turned out to be a very memorable experience. After a brief overview of ostrich feathers, eggs and skin, our guide took us close to the birds. We went and hugged them, sat on them, stood on their eggs, fed them, and got a neck massage from them. The last mentioned was really interesting as it involved holding a bucket full of their food, and 4-5 birds ate from the same while standing behind you. Hence their neck massaged your neck and face and it was very nice and unique. We also had the option of racing on the birds but did not opt for the same. Very good experience and full value for money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    152
    72
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

A lovely setting to see Ostriches up close. The guide takes you through a classroom session first on the facts of ostriches and then takes you around the farm. We got to even ride the ostriches. The support staff take good care while doing this. A brilliant experience of even feeding the ostriches. A great time.

Helpful?
Thank PrashantKhullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed one night in Oudtshoorn whilst touring the Garden Route and did pay a visit here before we left en route for Knysna.
It was a fun few hours and our guide was a lovely lady who have gave us a great informative tour. Friendly guides with a wealth of knowledge and very smart in their uniforms.
We found the place very easily as well signposted and easy to park up in their car park, tours start at a certain time we had not pre booked and was not that busy so only had to wait around 15 mins for the next tour to start, there were only another two couples on our tour so a nice small group. We started with a visit to the museum learning about the history and the life of an Ostrich and looking at their feathers you could watch a pre recorded video of ostriches eggs hatching.
Spent around 20 mins here and then we went off on the tour driving by a tracker with carriages on the back out into the fields were the ostriches were sitting on their eggs and then to the point where you can feed the ostriches, noisy messy eaters...lol ! - Funny creatures and nice to see them, you can stand on ostriches eggs and then at the end of the tour can ride an ostrich if you weigh under 75KG. Not too fussed about the way people can sit on them as could see the Ostrich was not too pleased or the ride by the staff at the end in the Ostrich race.. Not really my thing as a bit staged and over the top. But did enjoy going out on the tractor in the countryside and seeing the birds in the fields on a lovely warm and sunny day taking in the landscape.
Restaurant on site, we sat in the gardens having a drink and ice creams as too early for lunch it was very reasonable and really friendly staff in the cafe.
Very clean, bathroom facilities available and a nice gift shop.
Worth a visit :) :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 420holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
749 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit to the Cango Ostrich farm. The guide was excellent and very interesting. The kids had great fun riding and feeding the ostriches. Overall a fun experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwil-Lieli, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This farm is apparently less crowded than other ones, therefor we opted to go here. There were quite a few people in our group, but it didn't feel overcrowded. We had a tour of the farm, they let you feed a couple of ostriches, ride some if you're under 75 Kg and in the end you can stand on a couple of eggs. The guide was knowledgeable and fun to listen to. The experience wasn't special, but it's something you have to do when you visit Oudtshoorn and this is the place to visit when you want to avoid the big crowds.

After the tour we had lunch in the adjacent restaurant and here the long wait was a disappointment. My wife had an ostrich salad, which she liked very much. I had a pasta with a sweet and sour sauce, which just didn't fit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ddoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cango Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Cango Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing