We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super fun and great for kids”

Cango Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Oudtshoorn
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cango Ostrich Show Farm offers the ultimate ostrich experience with exciting and informative guided tours (daily from 9h00 to 17h00), a fantastic curio shop, a fine selection of award winning local wines; and a coffee shop / restaurant serving a lovely variety of light meals. We host groups and schools, whose itinerary often includes delicious pre-booked meals. Situated 14km outside of Oudtshoorn on the road to the Cango Caves.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super fun and great for kids”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We went with a tour guide to the farm and then did the guided tour by the farms guides, we had an amazing short coloured lady do our tour, she was very cute and funny , we got to touch the ostriches , got hugs and massages from them ! Was amazing !!!! Some of us even got to ride. Them and the kids that where to young to ride got to sit on the ostrich for a photo ! Truly special !!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carmi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    140
    67
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very disappointing as we thought that this was a genuine ostrich farm, too late we realised that this was purely a tourist show facility and that very few birds were actually kept on the 'farm'. The guide in his introduction insisted that the male ostrich changed sex and laid the eggs, only later admitted that he had been joking! The birds in the riding pen were agitated and did not appreciate being blindfolded and pushed into a trap to allow someone to mount. The sight of one of the guides riding the bird was one I wish to forget. The tour was hurried as another group was following ours.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rode an ostrich!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a great visit. The guide was very informative and also made allot of jokes. We rode the ostrich, got an ostrich hug and an ostrich neck massage all from ostriches :-) We also stood on ostrich eggs, we were warned if you brake a rotten ostrich egg your feet will stink for weeks. It was a great day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Try to ride an ostrich”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have been on the back of a horse, camel, elephant, turtle, and now ostrich.The farm is situated on the famous Garden Route and should not be overlooked. You will have a chance to learn about this giant birds, feed them, try an omelet, prepared in the farm's restaurant and f you dare - try to ride an ostrich. Unforgettable experience, highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Cango ostrich and it was still as good. Lizzelle was our guide she was very interesting seemed to really enjoy her job she had just made a comment about snakes in the bushes behind us when a mouse ran near to my feet so I ran !! She was so amused !!!
Would recommend if in Oudtshoorn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cango Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Cango Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing