We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour not as advertised - Wate of Money”

Cango Ostrich Show Farm
Ranked #6 of 32 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cango Ostrich Show Farm offers the ultimate ostrich experience with exciting and informative guided tours (daily from 9h00 to 17h00), a fantastic curio shop, a fine selection of award winning local wines; and a coffee shop / restaurant serving a lovely variety of light meals. We host groups and schools, whose itinerary often includes delicious pre-booked meals. Situated 14km outside of Oudtshoorn on the road to the Cango Caves.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour not as advertised - Wate of Money”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tour Is rushed, and was told Tour included feeding / Sitting / Taking Pics with ostrich, but During Tour the Guide said there is no time and that one person per family / Group may do certain things, yet we all paid full price,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pranels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    152
    72
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A fun way to learn about ostriches”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I knew very little about ostriches before this, but learnt a huge amount during the visit.
The guide was excellent, telling us in detail about the birds and answering any questions we had.
Quite an interactive tour, feeding one from your hand, having your neck rubbed, or if you are light or brave enough actually riding one!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogjacgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice and entertaining”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ranger is a unbelievable guide ! We found the range very well organised and worth the visit. The history of the ostrich industry is very nice explained and forms part of this region.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank josue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ride an ostrich!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a very entertaining way to spend a few hours in Oudtshoorn. We had ostrich giving us cuddles, neck massages and I even rode one, so funny!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank thelemontreesicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ostrich”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

WOW!!! what an exciting day. Again, our tour guide was amazing and so friendly. We got to touch the ostrich's, feed them, have them give us a "neck massage" - you stand with your back to them with a bowl of pellets, and then they eat around your neck from behind, you get to ride them if you don't weigh too much etc etc

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 33Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cango Ostrich Show Farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Cango Ostrich Show Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing